glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

lovers of pleasure more than lovers of God

It is 2:49 PM Friday afternoon here. It is always here and not elsewhere. Where is elsewhere? I am sure it is someplace not here.

I got up this morning around 7:24 AM. When I came upstairs Carol was ready for the day. We left for the hospital to have her stomach scoped around 9:05 AM. The doctor saw nothing in her stomach, no ulcer zero. Carol and I were home from the hospital by 10:45 AM. Carol did fine and I left soon after getting home to visit Bluestocking Book Shoppe. We still had some in-store credit at this used bookstore so I thought I would drive over to there to see if I could find any interesting used books to add to my library. I found these used books this morning at Bluestocking-

'Confessions of a Young Novelist' Biography by Umberto Eco

'Reading Dante From Here To Eternity' Literary Study by Prue Shaw

'Valis' A Novel by Philip K Dick

'Primitive Man As Philosopher' Anthropology by Paul Radin (Radin taught for a time at Black Mountain College)

'Diane Arbus: A Biography' by Patricia Bosworth

'The Order of Things: An Archaeology of the Human Sciences' Philosophy by Michel Foucault

'The Justification of the Good: An Essay on Moral Philosophy' by Vladimir Solovyov Translated by Nathalie A. Duddington

'Culture And Value' Philosophy by Ludwig Wittgenstein Translated by Peter Winch

'Backing Into Forward' A Memoir by Jules Feiffer

On the way home from Bluestocking Book Shoppe I stopped at Action House thrift store to look at their used books, but saw nothing to buy. When I got home I found Carol in her chair relaxing, she is now taking a nap.

In the mail this afternoon I received a book I had ordered from Verso titled, 'Cannibal Capitalism-How Our System is Devouring Democacy, Care, and the Planet-and What We Can Do about it' Economics by Nancy Fraser.

Last night I mainly read from a book titled, 'Everybody Thought We Were Crazy-Dennis Hopper, Brooke Hayward, and 1960s Los Angeles' by Mark Rozzo. I also read late into the night from a book titled, 'POPism-The Warhol '60s' Memoir by Andy Warhol & Pat Hackett.

All I got around to reading this morning was from a book titled, 'The Spiritual Life' by Campegius Vitringa Translated And Edited By Charles K. Telfer Foreword By Richard A. Muller. I also read this morning for devotions from a book titled, 'The Christian's Great Interest' by William Guthrie. I am not sure what I will read this afternoon. I should read some more of this book, 'Dwight Macdonald and the politics Circle' by Gregory Sumner. Well, I will close to face it. Tomorrow is a Saturday. It will soon be over.

"[1] This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.
[2] For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,
[3] Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good,
[4] Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God;
[5] Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away.
[6] For of this sort are they which creep into houses, and lead captive silly women laden with sins, led away with divers lusts,
[7] Ever learning, and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth." Second Timothy 2:1-7

3:25 p.m. - 2023-01-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act