glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the ladder of faith

It is 1:05 PM Thursday afternoon here in Western Michigan. It is sleeting outside as I write down these words. I find words mystifying. Where do words come from? How can words express objective Reality. To me all words or language fail to perfectly express what is.

I got up this morning around 7:45 AM. When I came upstairs Carol was reading in our living room. I am always amazed when we visit someone's house and it is bare. The house is empty of anything but the basics like furniture, a dining room table, chairs, etc. . . Our home is filled with stuff, but not cluttered. Our home is filled mainly with books, Art, and CD's. I find it depressing to entry someone's home and see emptiness, no Art, no books, and no music. But everyone has a television and a radio. Anyway I find it comforting to have a house filled with books on a cold rainy dark day.

Carol and I did have devotions this morning. We are reading for devotions from a book titled, 'The Christian's Great Interest' by William Guthrie. After devotions we prayed and then I wrote in my paper diary and have been reading all day from these two books-'The Ascent of Mount Carmel' by St. John of the Cross (found in 'The Collected Works of St. John of the Cross' Translated by Kieran Kavanaugh, O.C.D. & Otilio Rodriguez, O.C.D.) and 'Fire Within: St Teresa Of Avila, St John Of The Cross, And The Gospel On Prayer' by Thomas Dubay, S.M.. Yesterday I spent all day into the night reading, 'The Ascent of Mount Carmel'. St John of the Cross always speaks to me spiritually.

There is nothing else to report this afternoon. Tomorrow is a Friday, I once again volunteer at the Book Nook our local library used bookstore from 10 AM till 1 PM.

1:22 p.m. - 2023-01-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act