glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

he must cast out the strange gods, all alien affections and attachments

It is 2:16 PM Wednesday afternoon here in Western Michigan. It is 42 degrees and partly sunny.

I got up this morning around 6:17 AM. When I came upstairs I found my wife reading in our living room. Carol planned to meet a friend for breakfast around 9 o'clock AM this morning. I made myself oatmeal for breakfast and then wrote in my paper diary. Carol and I decided this morning to read for morning devotions from one of my favorite Puritan books titled, 'The Christian's Great Interest' by William Guthrie first published in 1658 reprinted by the Banner of Truth Trust in 1969. I use to carry around this old Puritan paperback when I lived in Richmond CA back in the early 1970's. I have a new edition of this book 'The Christian's Great Interest' because my copy is all beat up.

Carol left to go to the Post Office and meet her friend for breakfast around 8:15 AM. While Carol was gone I wrote in my paper diary and read, 'The Ascent Of Mount Carmel' by St. John of the Cross. I have been reading St. John of the Cross since 1970 (when I became a follower of the Lord Jesus Christ).

When Carol got home it was 11:10 AM we then left to go buy and bring home a used car we bought from folks Carol knows from her church. When we got to the place where we were to buy the car I left in our old car to visit Northside thrift stores in search of old used books to ADD to my library. Carol did not need me since this used car is in her name, not mine.

I found these used books at Northside Salvation Army today for four dollars-

'Evelina' A Novel by Frances Burney

'American Women Poets: Pioneers of Modern Poetry' biography/literary criticism by Jean Gould

'Down By The River: Drugs, Money, Murder, And Family' Narcotics and Crime/Mexican-American Border Region by Charles Bowden

'Bernard Shaw: The Search for Love' Volume 1 biography by Michael Holroyd

When I got home Carol had just drove into our driveway with the new used car. She left a few minutes ago to do paper work on this used car. I am tired as usual. Life is a hard road.

Last night I mainly read before going to bed from a book titled, 'Everybody Thought We Were Crazy: Dennis Hopper, Brooke Hayward, and 1960's Los Angeles' biography by Mark Rozzo. I also read last night from a book titled, 'The Andy Warhol Diaries' Edited By Pat Hackett.
I will close to wait. I am still reading this afternoon, 'The Ascent Of Mount Carmel' by St. John of the Cross. I love St. John of the Cross.

"[16] And he spake a parable unto them, saying, The ground of a certain rich man brought forth plentifully:
[17] And he thought within himself, saying, What shall I do, because I have no room where to bestow my fruits?
[18] And he said, This will I do: I will pull down my barns, and build greater; and there will I bestow all my fruits and my goods.
[19] And I will say to my soul, Soul, thou hast much goods laid up for many years; take thine ease, eat, drink, and be merry.
[20] But God said unto him, Thou fool, this night thy soul shall be required of thee: then whose shall those things be, which thou hast provided?
[21] So is he that layeth up treasure for himself, and is not rich toward God." Luke 12:16-21

2:47 p.m. - 2023-01-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act