glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

unmasked the gospel hypocrite who relied on works rather than on grace

It is 3:43 PM Wednesday afternoon here in Western Michigan. It is 46 degrees outside, a cold windy dismal day. The trees are almost all bare and it is getting colder and colder. Soon we will be having snow storms and icy roads. Death is always lingering in the shadows.

I got up this morning around 8:15 AM. I slept in this morning, because lately I have been getting up too early and fighting to stay awake through the day. I think my lack of physical movement is leading me to feel weaker and weaker physically. As I become weaker my body wants to doze. So I came upstairs to find Carol reading her Bible. I cooked a pot of oatmeal for breakfast. I ate my oatmeal, then I wrote in my paper diary, and then Carol and I read Tripp's devotional book 'New Morning Mercies', then a portion of the Bible and then we closed in joint prayer. When Carol worked full time Carol and I did not pray regularly because we lived in different Time Zones. Carol and I lived in different worlds when Carol was working full time. When Carol was off from work we still lived different spiritual lives. But when Carol retired I immediately realized I had to change my spiritual routine if I was going to be able to live at peace with God and Carol/I had to conform to a different spiritual life that was more in conformity to being with Carol all the Time. Now Carol and I pray in morning and at night before going to bed. We can both seek the Lord Jesus all the time because we are mostly together all the Time now. For years I lived a very contemplative Christian life and now I live a more verbal prayer Christian life. Also it is almost impossible to live in a state of contemplation/silence with noise constantly going on inside my head-in my left ear due to being afflicted with tinnitus. But I am these days at a higher place on the Ladder of Perfection due praying out loud. I think now God brought me low last year so as to lift me higher into His divine Presence.

I spent the morning mainly reading till Noon from Volume 1, 'The Existence & Attributes of God' by Stephen Charnock. This afternoon I have been writing in my paper diary and reading from a book I read last night titled, 'Magnificent Rebels: The First Romantics and the Invention Of The Self' biography by Andrea Wulf. I also read last night before going to bed from a book titled, 'Conversations With Goethe In the Last Years of his Life' by Johann Peter Eckermann Translated by Allan Blunden with an Introduction and Notes by Ritchie Robertson. I also have been reading 'The World of Apples' Stories by John Cheever.

Carol goes this evening to church for the Woman's Bible Study. I will watch the television program Nature on PBS. Tomorrow morning at 11:10 AM I have a dentist appointment to have my teeth cleaned.

I should mention that in the mail today I received a book I had ordered titled, 'Some Pastors And Teachers-Reflecting a Biblical Vision of What Every Minister is Called to be' Pastoral Theology by Sinclair Ferguson. I will close Time flow circle of Light

4:16 p.m. - 2022-10-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act