glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the Christian life is one of perpetual spiritual conflict

It is 1:47 PM Tuesday afternoon here in Western Michigan. It is another nice sunny Autumn day.

I got up this morning around 4 o'clock AM. I got up early because I had to drive Carol to a near by Truck Stop because she was getting a ride with a girlfriend on her vacation with two of her closest girlfriends. Every year goes away in Autumn with these old girlfriends. After dropping off Carol around 5:05 AM I drove home through fog. When I got home I did all the usual things I do in the morning. I ate breakfast, wrote in my paper diary, prayed, and read for morning devotions my Reformation Commentary on The Second Epistle to the Corinthians (NT). I went back to bed around 8 o'clock AM and got up around 11 o'clock AM to do errands. I had to take Carol's Woman's Book Club library books back to the library. After dropping off the library books I visited thrift stores and Bluestocking Book Shoppe to look at used books to see if I could find anything to add to my Book Collection. I found these used books today-

'That Other World: Nabokov And The Puzzle Of Exile' by Azar Nafisi Translated from the Persian by Lotfali Khonji Edited by Azar Nafisi and Valerie Miles

'The Hidden Wordsworth: Poet Lover Rebel Spy' biography by Kenneth R. Johnston

'Dorothy Parker: What Fresh Hell Is This?' A Biography by Marion Meade

'Distinction: A Social Critique of the Judgement of Taste' by Pierre Bourdieu Translated by Richard Nice

'Simone Weil Reader' Edited by George A. Panichas

'Absurdistan' A Novel by Gary Shteyngart

'Ends And Odds: Eight New Dramatic Pieces' by Samuel Beckett

'Wolf Totem' A Novel by Jiang Rong Translated by Howard Goldblatt

'The Sea Lady' A Novel by Margaret Drabble

'First Person' A Novel by Richard Flanagan

While I was out visiting thrift stores I stopped at Staples Office Supply Store and got notebook paper and pens. I then came home to live out this day. Carol has not called me so I assume she is OK. Being on the road traveling somewhere is dangerous. There are madmen out there speeding drunk and ready to smash into someone. To me it takes faith to go anywhere in this blood thirsty world.

Last night I watched some Monday Night Football. Carol was gone last night at a Woman's Ministry Meeting. When Carol got home we prayed and Carol went to bed. I went down into the lower level and read till 10:25 PM from a book titled, 'I Want to Keep Smashing Myself Until I Am Whole: An Elias Canetti Reader' Edited and with an Introduction by Joshua Cohen. I also read yesterday from a book titled, 'Memoirs From Beyond The Grave 1768-1800' by Francoise-Rene De Chateaubriand Translated from the French by Alex Andriesse.

I will close to have a cup of coffee and seek the Lord.

2:22 p.m. - 2022-10-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act