glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go along with him from the city of destruction to the shining city

It is 1:27 PM Wednesday afternoon here in West Michigan. Right now it is overcast outside and cold. There is a frost warning out this afternoon. Early today it was cloudy and partly sunny.

I got up this morning around 5:55 AM because I wanted to get it over getting out of bed. So I came upstairs to find Carol on her cell phone. I won't go into great detail on what I did this morning simply because I do the same things each morning. I am a creature of habit. I like doing the same things over and over because it is less stressful. Why always have to deal with the unknown. Always doing the same things places oneself in a space of knowing and not unknowing. Why place oneself in front of a speeding train?

Carol left this morning to have a coffee and conversation with some of her cousin's on her Dad's side of the family. I have spent the morning and now afternoon reading and writing in my paper diary. I read this morning from two new books both of which came in the mail yesterday titled, 'The Christian Contemplated' by Rev. William Jay first published in 1828 England and 'Prayers for The Use of Families' by Rev. William Jay published here in the USA in 1834.

I left the house around 10:30 AM this morning to visit the Book Nook and two local thrift stores to look at their used books. At the Book Nook I bought a used books I saw last Monday titled, 'Mount Athos: An illustrated guide to the monasteries and their history (Large fold-out reconstruction of Mount Athos) Sotiris Kadas Archaeologist Athens 1980. I did not find anything at Action House thrift store and Goodwin thrift store to add to my book collection. At Goodwill I ran into Carol with her cousin Dianne, Carol was also looking at the used books. Carol and I are always searching thrift stores for used books. I came home empty handed today, but my Amazon book order was on our porch when I got home from my wanderings. I received these new books today from Amazon-'Memoirs From Beyond The Grave 1800-1815' By Francois-Rene De Chateaubriand Translated from the French by Alex Andriesse [New York Review Books], 'Conversations With Goethe' Johann Peter Eckermann Translated by Allan Blunden, and 'I Want to Keep Smashing Myself Until I Am Whole: An Elias Canetti Reader' Edited and with an Introduction by Joshua Cohen.

It is 1:51 PM Carol just got home from her travels.

I am tired so I will close to wait for tomorrow to come. Last night I read late into the night from a book titled, 'Memoirs From Beyond The Grave 1768-1800' by Francois-Rene De Chateaubriand Translated from the French by Alex Andriesse.

1:59 p.m. - 2022-09-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act