glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

true repentance

It is 1:02 PM Sunday afternoon on a cold gray damp day. It feels like the beginning of Autumn today. Maybe we have an early Winter this year. I like long dry sunny Autumns. Weather folks are predicting due to above temperatures trees will turn color early. Trees could be losing their leaves by October the 1st.

I got up this morning around 8 o'clock AM. I got up to find Carol getting ready to go to church. After Carol left for church I read, wrote in my paper diary, and filmed a video for my Youtube channel. I read till Noon '2 Corinthians' New Testament IXb Reformation Commentary On Scripture. Carol got home from church around 12:05 PM. Time flow circle.

I have been reading this afternoon, 'Nana' A Novel by Emile Zola. I read 'Nana' many times over the years.

Last night I watched football and read, 'Nana' by Zola before going to bed around 11 o'clock PM. Now it is the beginning of another week. Time flow circle. There is no way of escape.

I will close to wait. I will quote from the Reformation Commentary 2 Corinthians 7:10-12 The Nature of Godly Grief pg.217,218

"Four Kinds Of Godly Sorrow. Wolfgang Musculus: It is clear that everyone who experiences godly sorrow, in the end, is also gladdened by God. Now there are four kinds of godly sorrow that occur at the present time. The first kind is that which the apostle is thinking of here in this passage. And this sort alone, he says, is adequate to produce repentance. The second kind is where a godly person experiences sadness because of disgrace for the sake of God's name. People suffer this kind of sorrow every day who either live as exiles because of their faith in God, or live among false Christians, idolaters, and enemies of the Word of God. Thus were those people who, though they were godly, lived amid the people of God in Jerusalem itself and groaned and mourned over the detestable practices that were happening there, as one can read in Ezekiel 9. . . The third kind of godly sorrow is experienced by all who suffer injuries, jeers, and persecutions because of the name of God. The passage in 1 Peter 2 pertains to this, where it says, "For this is a gracious thing, when mindful of God, a person endures sorrows while suffering unjustly." The fourth kind of godly sorrow is born out of a desire to appear in God's presence, when the spirits of faithful people who love God experience sorrow on account of the length of their pilgrimages. An example of this happened to David when he as in exile. He makes mention of this in Psalm 42 when he says, "As the deer pants for springs of water, so my pants for you, O God." That this longing was accompanied by sadness is clearly seen when David goes on to say, "My tears have been my bread day and night." Again, "Why are you sad, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me?" The apostle Paul experienced this same emotion. . . for he says, "I desire to be released and be with Christ." These are the kinds of sorrow that are "godly sorrows." More could be added to this list, but I think these are sufficient for the present. And if only they would be applicable to us! COMMENTARY ON 2 CORINTHIANS 7:10." Reformation Commentary 2 Corinthians 7:10-12 The Nature of Godly Grief pg.217,218

1:30 p.m. - 2022-09-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act