glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

jazz

It is 2:16 PM on a hot Friday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is 82 degrees and we have on central air to keep us from being cooked alive. It seems all over the world people are being roasted by the sun. In the Old Testament (Bible) droughts are considered covenant curses. The earth is under covenant curses, mankind broke in Paradise the Adamic Covenant.

I had a normal morning today. I got up around 7:10 AM to find Carol ready to hit the day running. It takes me most of the morning to wake up. Carol was up at 5 o'clock AM this morning and was wide awake. She took Ollie for a walk before she left to do errands. Carol and I did have devotions before she left to do errands. I find when we do devotions my mind is all over the place. But I am united to Carol in prayer and reading God's Word. My spiritual ear hears her when she reads the Bible and prays. My main prayer each morning is asking God for grace to face Time flow circle. Sometimes I think my prayers are too general. I am not involved in the world wide Christian community. I am just going from one day to the next crying out to the Lord to keep me seeking Him amidst all the death in this war torn world. Praying to the Lord to keep me from sinking into a pit of despair.

I left to volunteer at the Book Nook around 9:35 AM. The Book Nook was not busy so I basically went through boxes of donations and read from a book titled, 'My Unwritten Books' essays by George Steiner. I bought these used books today-

'Maya Cosmos: Three Thousand Years On The Shaman's Path' By David Freidel, Linda Schele, & Joy Parker

'Sexuality in Western Art' by Edward Lucie-Smith

'Rebecca' A Novel By Daphne Du Maurier

'Don't Look Now' By Daphine Du Maurier [Stories Selected And With An Introduction By Patrick McGrath]

'In The Shadow of Young Girls in Flower' A Novel by Marcel Proust A New Translation by James Grieve [Book II 'In Search Of Lost Time']

'Verse' Poetry by John Updike

'Nana' A Novel by Emile Zola Translated With An Introduction By George Holden

'The Kandy-Kolored Tangerine-Flake Streamline Baby' essays by Tom Wolfe

'Scribble, Scribble, Scribble: Writing on Politics, Ice Cream, Churchill, And My Mother' essays By Simon Schama

'Middlemarch' A Novel By George Eliot [Complete And Unabridged With An Introduction By A.S. Byatt]

'Party Of The Century-The Fabulous Story of Truman Capote And His Black And White Ball' by Deborah Davis

'Art Nouveau' Art by Alastair Duncan

'The Mystic Image' by Joseph Campbell

'Art Nouveau 1890-1914' Art Edited by Paul Greenhalgh

'Byzantium-Faith And Power (1261-1557)' History/Art Edited by Helen C. Evans

Carol took my place at the Book Nook around 1 o'clock PM. I came home ate lunch and wrote in my paper diary. In the mail I received a book I had ordered titled, 'Music In The Air: The Selected Writings Of Ralph J. Gleason' Edited By Toby Gleason Foreword By Jann Wenner.

The last book I read last night before going to bed was, 'Pessoa: A Biography' by Richard Zenith. Did not have Time flow circle this morning to read anything. Well, I will close to go through my afternoon lull. Carol should be home soon from the Book Nook, her shift is from 1 PM till 3 PM.

3:40 p.m. - 2022-09-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act