glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the way to glory is by following Christ

It is 12:48 PM Saturday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is 84 degrees and sunny outside, a very hot day.

I got up this morning around 6:15 AM. When I came upstairs I found my wife reading the Bible. I went through my morning routine, which I won't spell out here since I have written about it a million times. My life is on repeat.

Today I have been writing in my paper diary and I read this morning from a volume titled, 'The Life of Jesus Christ' Part Two Volume 2, Chapters 58-89 by Ludolph of Saxony. This afternoon I have been reading, '2 Corinthians' New Testament IXb [Reformation Commentary On Scripture] Edited By Scott M. Manetsch.

I did leave the house around 8:30 AM to do some grocery shopping. Because Carol has COVID-19 she is under quarantine I went grocery shopping.

We are wondering when Josiah, Hannah, and the girls will drive into Holland. They landed in Chicago last night and stayed at a hotel. Joe was planning for them to drive to Holland today. I think Josiah and Hannah and the girls will stay at a hotel here in Holland till we see who has COVID-19 or is free of this deadly virus. I am thinking I might COVID-19 and be dead before my 70th birthday (8/14/2022). My spiritual birthday is 8/17/2022, when I have been a disciple of the Lord Jesus for 52 years. I became a Christian on August the 17th 1970 Richmond CA..

Last night I read from a used book I got from the Book Nook yesterday titled, 'The Lost Art of Scripture: Rescuing the Sacred Text' by Karen Armstrong.

I will close with a quote from my Reformation Commentary on 2 Corinthians Chapter 4:7-18-

"[16] For which cause we faint not; but though our outward man perish, yet the inward man is renewed day by day.
[17] For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory;
[18] While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal." 2 Corinthians 4:16-18

"The Way To Glory Is By Following Christ. John Calvin: Now to believe in Christ as he announces his tidings is, above all, to believe that he was the true messenger of God, and that all his message is true: part of it to be accomplished while our life is here, part to be looked for in the future. What is to be done here is a striving from love of the good to that right, devout, and just way of living which the righteous Christ showed us in himself as exemplar. And what is looked for in the future is that unending weight of glory above all measures in loftiness which such a following of Christ works in us, as we contemplate not the things are seen but those that are not seen.
In our desire for so great and blessed a reward we ought to follow after Christ in his footsteps with breathless pace as he goes before us, so that we may arrive where he has arrived. And this we should do, it seems to me, like a four-footed beast with four swift feet: the patience, that is, of good from above; the patience of ill from beneath; the doing of good toward those above, which is called piety; the constant doing also of good toward those who are our equals and inferiors, which is called justice. For in this four-square we must press on in this life, so that we may be the more steadfastly self-consistent. By means of this armor of righteousness on the right hand and on the left, we must go on in this land of our homelessness, so that we may escape safely from the perils of injustice. First, we must go to Christ, that from him we may go to glory. ENARRATION ON I CORINTHIANS" pg. 131 '2 Corinthians' New Testament IXb [Reformation Commentary On Scripture]

1:37 p.m. - 2022-08-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act