glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the birth of America

It is 12:09 PM Saturday afternoon here. I am still seeking to get my bearing's. I got up this morning around 6:15 AM. I came upstairs and Carol was going grocery shopping. I asked her if she wanted me to go with her? She said yes so I put away my paper diary and books and want grocery shopping with my wife. We got home from food gathering around 9:05 AM and we left soon after getting home to go to the Friends of the Library Used Books Sale five dollar bag sale (this the last day of the used books sale). I bought these used books for five dollars-

'The Birth Of America: From Before Columbus To The Revolution' by William R. Polk

'Restless Nation: Starting Over in America' by James M. Jasper

'J. M. W. Turner' Art History Edited By Ian Warrell With An Essay By Franklin Kelly

'Flowers In The Dustbin: Culture, Anarchy, And Postwar England' by Neil Nehring

'Marianne Moore: Imaginary Possessions' Poetry Criticism by Bonnie Costello

'Wallace Stevens: Selected Poems' A New Selection Edited By John N. Serio

'Cradle of America: Four Centuries Of Virginia History' by Peter Wallenstein

'In The Presence of Mine Enemies: War In The Heart Of America, 1859-1863' by Edward L. Ayers

'William Carlos Williams: Selected Poems' Edited By Charles Tomlinson

'I Never Met A Story I Didn't Like Mostly True Tall Tales' Memoir by Todd Snider

'Full House: The Spread Of Excellence From Plato To Darwin' essays by Stephen Jay Gould

'The Forgotten Characters Of Old San Francisco Including The Famous Bummer & Lazarus And Emperor Norton' By Robert Ernest Cowan, Anne Bancroft, And Addie L. Ballou

'The Turnip Princess and Other Newly Discovered Fairy Tales' By Franz Xaver Von Schonwerth [Penguin Classics]

'M The Man Who Became Caravaggio' biography by Peter Robb

After the library used books sale Carol and I came home. I soon left to go fill my old 30 year old Dodge van with gasoline ($4.10 a gallon today). On the way home I stopped at Gateway Center thrift store to look at their used books and saw no interesting used books. I did buy though four used CD's for my Music Collection-Michael Franks 'dragonfly summer', Crowded House 'Woodface', Steve Wynn 'Melting In The Dark' and Aimee Mann 'Lost in Space'.

So Time keeps going by. Time is now 12:41 PM and I will close to rest.

12:44 p.m. - 2022-07-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act