glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chicago

It is 11:55 AM late Saturday morning here in Western Michigan. It is a cold cloudy day. It has been predicted to rain later on today. It is also predicted to rain tomorrow.

I got up this morning around 7:15 AM. When I came upstairs I found Carol eating a slice of toast watching the birds from our kitchen window. I got myself a cup of coffee and sat in our dining room with the supreme goal of waking up. This morning I felt more awake than yesterday. But I still do not feel like reading anything intellectual heavy in the mornings. I think my brain is tired and I think I am overwhelmed by all the horrible News. All the violence going on in America and Ukraine I think is making me depressed. It is all shut out all the hatred around me. It is hard to just focus on today when the world around me is filled with senseless violence. It seems every day in America people are killing each other in cold blood. The other night here where we live a young kid shot two men riding on their bikes. One of the men died and the other one is in serious condition in the hospital. No one is safe any more from gun violence here in America. One can go to ones local grocery store and get gunned down by some crazy guy. One can send their little kids to an Elementary School and some fellow walks in that school and kills 19 little children and two school teachers. All this sense rage is getting to me I suppose. What is so troubling is that all this senseless killing is not going to stop. We are going to see or hear more and more senseless killing as we go through this year. Every day there are News reports of innocent people being murdered by mad men. In the Ukraine the Russians are killings thousands of Ukraine's. The Russians are shooting off missiles for hours destroying Ukraine cities and towns. People are dying and the world stands by. Why do not we go in and destroy the Russian Army. The West has the military power to destroy the Russian Army, but just sit and watch the bloodshed go on and on. It is all very depressing.

So here I sit at 12:11 PM drinking coffee and writing in my online diaries while the world drowns in human blood.

Carol left this morning to take a meal to a friend and her family, this friend is a wife and mother who is going to die from cancer soon. Maybe that is what we are suppose to do as the world drowns in human blood, show love to those around us.

I did leave the house this morning to visit near by thrift stores in search of reading material (used books). I found two used books today-'Chicago' American History by Studs Terkel and 'The Naked Olympics: The True Story of the Ancient Games' by Tony Perrottet. I have in my library another book by Perrottet titled, 'Pagan Holiday: On the Trail of Ancient Rome Tourists'.

Last night I mainly read till bedtime from a book titled, 'The Problem Of Democracy: The Presidents Adams Confront the Cult of Personality' by Nancy Isenberg & Andrew Burstein.

I suppose I will close to wait. I did get out from the lower level this morning a novel I have been reading off and on for a couple of years titled, 'Zama' by Antonio De Benedetto Translated By Esther Allen.

12:21 p.m. - 2022-06-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act