glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Art of Living

It is 3:23 PM Friday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is a cold cloudy damp day. It has been predicted to snow this evening.

I got up this morning around 7 o'clock AM. I got up and came upstairs to find the house the way I left it last night when I went down into the lower level to go to sleep. I am thankful I can wake up with a roof over my head. I wonder how many homes the Russians have destroyed in Ukraine thus far. I wonder many cars and trucks have been destroyed in Ukraine by the Russians? I am sure the economy of Ukraine has been broken and will take many years to recovery if ever.

So I got up came upstairs and made a fresh pot of coffee and then wrote in my paper diary. After writing in my diary and read from a book titled, 'Francisco de Osuna: The Third Spiritual Alphabet' [The Classics of Western Spirituality]. After reading some Mystical Theology I cooked myself breakfast and then afterwards I cleaned the kitchen. I then dozed till 9:15 AM and woke up to get ready to volunteer at our local library used bookstore The Book Nook from 10 AM to 1 PM. The Book Nook was not busy so I basically read from a book titled, 'The Watch' Stories by Rick Bass.

My replacement showed up around 1 o'clock PM and I drove home to go through the rest of the day. Carol called me around 2:15 PM from the Northwest.

In the mail this afternoon I received a used book I had ordered titled, 'American Memoir' published in 1947 written by Henry Seidel Canby. At the Book Nook today I bought two used books- 'The Oxford Guide to Ideas & Issues of the Bible' Edited by Bruce M. Metzger & Michael D. Coogan and 'Our Country Friends' A Novel by Gary Shteyngart.

Yesterday I received the wrong book I had ordered so I decided to send it back. I printed off the mailing slip and drove over to our local UPS store to mail the used book. The UPS store is right across from the Bluestockings Book Shoppe so I stopped in to look around to see if I can could find any used books to buy. I bought these used books that were fifty cents apiece-

'The Watch' Stories by Rick Bass

'History of Libraries in the Western World' 4th Edition by Michael H. Harris

'Further Fridays: Essays, Lectures, and Other Nonfiction, 1984-1994' by John Barth

'On With The Story' Stories by John Barth

'The Translator' A Novel by John Crowley

'Vow to Poetry: Essays, Interviews, & Manifestos' by the poet Anne Waldman

I spent the last night reading from the above books before going to bed. Carol did call me last night around 10:15 PM (I just got home from a walk around the block).

So the days go by. I will close to face what comes next. Tomorrow is a Saturday. We are in the season of Lent.

3:47 p.m. - 2022-04-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act