glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

propaganda and empire

It is 1:07 PM Tuesday afternoon here in West Michigan. It was sunny this morning, but now it is cloudy. It is 36 degrees and we are predicted to have snow this coming Thursday and Friday. We are back to Winter weather once again.

I got up this morning around 5:45 AM. My sciatica woke me up and I decided to just get up and face another day of prayer. When I came upstairs it was 6:05 AM and Carol was still in bed. I made a fresh pot of coffee and then wrote in my paper diary. Carol got up around 7 o'clock AM, when she got up I was making myself oatmeal for breakfast. After breakfast I wrote some more in my paper diary and read from a volume titled, 'The Life of Jesus Christ' Part Two Volume 1, Chapters 1-57 By Ludolph of Saxony.

Carol and I had morning devotions around 9 o'clock AM. After devotions we prayed and then Carol left to do errands. I left the house around 10 o'clock AM to visit Bluestockings Book Shoppe and visit southside Goodwill Thrift Store.

I bought these used books at Bluestocking Book Shoppe this morning for my library-

'Propaganda And Empire: The Manipulation of British Public Opinion, 1880-1960' By John Mackenzie

'Hannibal: A History Of The Art Of War Among The Carthaginians And Romans Down To The Battle Of Pydna, 168 B.C. With A Detailed Account Of The Second Punic War' by Theodore Ayrault Dodge

'Unfinished Empire: The Global Expansion of Britain' by John Darwin

After Dark' A Novel by Haruki Murakami

'The Philosophy of St. Thomas Aquinas' by Etienne Gilson

'The Hermetic Museum: Alchemy & Mysticism' by Alexander Roob

'Memories Of The Future' A Novel by Sigizmund Krzhizhanovsky Translated From The Russian By Joanne Turnbull

'Maldoror and Poem' by Lautreamont Translate and Introduction by Paul Knight

'Morte D'Urban' A Novel by J.F. Powers

'Letters' A Novel by John Barth

'The Letter On Apologetics & History And Dogma' by Maurice Blondel Text presented and translated by Alexander Dru & Illtyd Trethowan

'Medieval Essays' by Etienne Gilson translated by James Colbert

After visiting Bluestockings Book Shoppe I headed towards home, but stopped at southside Goodwill Thrift store to look at their used books and bought these four used books-

'Sepharad' A Novel by Antonio Munoz Molina Translated from the Spanish by Margaret Sayers Peden

'The Girl In A Swing' A Novel by Richard Adams

'Horatio Nelson' a biography by Tom Pocock

'Show Down' A Novel by Jorge Amado Translated By Gregory Rabassa

When I got home from my travels Carol pulled up in front of me. She was back from grocery shopping and doing errands.

I am tired so I will close to clean the kitchen and pray. I mainly read last night from a volume I got in the mail yesterday titled, 'Literary History Of The United States' Third Edition: Revised By Robert E. Spiller, Willard Thorp, Thomas H. Johnson. Henry Seidel Canby & Richard M. Ludwig.

1:48 p.m. - 2022-03-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act