glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

no weapon that is formed against thee shall prosper

It is 1:24 PM Tuesday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is 45 degrees and partly sunny presently. I think I Spring will soon be upon us once again. Of course we could heading for a Nuclear Winter if the Russians decide to destroy humanity.

I got up this morning around 6:30 AM, but I was really awake since 3 o'clock AM due to my sciatica. I was able to stay in bed in spite of feeling the sciatica pain. I lay in bed trying to find a body position that dulls the sciatica pain enough for me to doze. So I came upstairs around 6:35 AM to find my reading the Word of God the holy Bible. I made a fresh pot of coffee and then made for breakfast a pot of oatmeal. After breakfast Carol and I had devotions and then I got ready to go to Physical Therapy session for my sciatica affliction. Carol drove me over to the building where I receive physical therapy around 8:40 AM. Carol picked me up after PT around 9:30 AM. When we got home Maplewood Auto called to tell us my van was ready to be picked up (they had to replace the brake light switch). So Carol drove me over to Maplewood so I could get my beloved van, she is a fine old lady my old Dodge van. There have been several times my old van has kept me from becoming road kill.

Carol has been coming and going all day doing errands. I got a call from the Book Nook telling me the books I had set aside yesterday had been priced and I could come down and pay for them. So I drove down to the library their used bookstore The Book Nook and paid for the used books and drove home. These are the used books I bought today at the Book Nook for my Library-

'Puritanism in Old and New England' by Alan Simpson

'The Burned-Over District: The Social and Intellectual History of Enthusiastic Religion in Western New York, 1800-1850' by Whitney R. Cross

'Ezekiel' [The NIV Application Commentary] by Iain M. Duguid

'Tennessee Williams Plays 1937-1955' [Library of America]

'Tennessee Williams Plays 1957-1980' [Library of America]

'Revivalism Social Conscience And Community In The Burned-Over District: The Trial Of Rhoda Bement' by Genn C. Altschuler & Jan M. Saltzgaber

'The Faithful Shepherd: A History of the New England Ministry in the Seventeenth Century' by David D. Hall

'Meeting House And Counting House: The Quaker Merchants of Colonial Philadelphia 1682-1763' by Frederick B. Tolles

'Witchcraft At Salem' By Chadwick Hansen

'The Puritan Way Of Death: A Study in Religion, Culture, and Social Change' by David E. Stannard

'The Devil in Massachusetts: A Modern Enquiry into the Salem Witch Trials' by Marion L, Starkey

'The Oxford Guide to The Book Of Common Prayer: A Worldwide Survey' Edited by Charles Hefling & Cynthia Shattuck

The above are the used books I bought this morning from the Book Nook. All these used books go into collections. I am a student of American History-American Christianity-Church History. I am an American Christian facing extinction by the Russians.

Last night I mainly read from a slim memoir titled, 'Hourglass: Time, Memory, And Marriage' A Memoir by Dani Shapiro. I also read a few pages in a memoir I got in the mail yesterday titled, 'Sing Backwards And Weep: A Memoir' by Mark Lanegan.

This morning I did read while Carol was out doing errands from a volume titled, 'Reformed Systematic Theology: Spirit and Salvation' Volume 3 by Joel R. Beeke & Paul M. Smalley. Well I am going to close to pray that the Russians won't destroy mankind/destroy the planet earth.

2:07 p.m. - 2022-03-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act