glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The National Security State

It is 2:39 PM Monday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is 50 degrees and cloudy well there is some sunshine but not much.

I woke up this morning around 3 o'clock AM due to sciatica in my right leg. But I was able to find bodily position laying in bed that allowed me to doze till 6:30 AM. I was not sound asleep but I was not awake either. I suppose I had my eyes closed but was aware of having my eyes closed and not really inhabiting a dream state. So I got up at 6:30 AM (before the recent change it would have been 5:30 AM). When I came upstairs I found my wife drinking old coffee and reading her Bible. I made a fresh pot of coffee and then I made myself oatmeal for breakfast. Carol usually has yogurt and granola for breakfast with fruit like blueberries or strawberries. My wife's lifestyle is one of being godly and healthy. I am a train wreck when it comes to health and holiness. I need more of God to make me more holy.

Carol and I talked about spirituality and world events before having Morning Devotions. After Morning Devotions I took a hot shower and then got ready to do my volunteer shift at our local library used books store The Book Nook. Carol dropped me off at the library since my van is still at Maplewood Auto being checked over on why the back headlights won't go off. Hopefully tomorrow I will have once again have in possession of my old 1993 Dodge van.

The Book Nook was not busy today so I wandered the store due to sciatica pain and read from a used book I bought at the Book Nook titled, 'Jonathan Edwards, Pastor: Religion and Society in Eighteenth-Century Northampton' by Patricia J. Tracy. I also bought these used books from the Book Nook today-

'Hourglass: Time, Memory, Marriage' A Memoir by Dani Shapiro

'Fascism: A Warning' by Madeleine Albright With A New Preface

'Scattered Peace: The Origins Of The Cold War And The National Security State' by Daniel Yergin

'The 60's: The Story Of A Decade' The New Yorker Magazine

'Brooklyn: The Once And Future City' History by Thomas J. Campanella

I set aside a bunch of other used books at the Book Nook that were all on Early American History/New England Puritanism etc. . . I set aside these used books and left a note asking how much the Book Nook wanted me they wanted me to pay for.

So Time goes by this afternoon. Carol is out making a social call. In the mail this afternoon I received a book I had ordered titled, 'Sing Backwards And Weep' A Memoir by Mark Lanegan.

Last night before going to bed I started reading once again a novel titled, 'Love's Attraction' A Novel by David Adams Cleveland. I also read last night from a book titled, 'Britain's Empire: Resistance, Repression, And Revolt' by Richard Gott.

I am going to close to pray and seek healing for all my infirmities.

3:11 p.m. - 2022-03-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act