glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tears are unspoken words

It is 2:53 PM Friday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is 37 degrees and the snow has turned to slush. The problem is that this slush will turn into ice over the weekend. We are predicted to get in the teens over the weekend. So the roads will be sheets of ice tomorrow and Sunday.

I am extremely tired presently because my Sciatica pain woke me up around 4:30 AM. So I got up, got dressed, and laid on the sofa till 6 o'clock AM. When I came upstairs I found Carol still sleeping. I made a fresh pot of coffee and then wrote in my paper diary. Carol did not want any oatmeal this morning, so I made oatmeal only for myself. I wrote in my paper diary and then Carol and I had morning devotions. After devotions I wrote some more in my diary and read from a volume titled, 'Reformed Systematic Theology-Spirit and Salvation' Volume 3 by Joel R. Beeke & Paul M. Smalley.

Carol and I both left the house around 9:45 AM. Carol left to help fold church bulletins and I left to volunteer at the local library Used Books Store The Book Nook from 10 AM to 1 PM. The Book Nook was not busy so I read from a book titled, 'Nights In The Gardens Of Brooklyn' Short Stories by Harvey Swados [New York Review Books Classics] Preface By Grace Paley. I bought this book by Swados at the Book Nook this morning. I collect the New York Review Books Classics editions. I also bought these used books from the Book Nook today-

'Quotations From Chairman Mao Tsetung' WORKERS OF ALL COUNTRIES UNITE!

'At Last' A Novel by Edward St. Aubyn (I already has this novel in paperback, this edition is hardback edition with a slipcover)

'Lincoln In The Bardo' A Novel by George Saunders

'Pastoral Song: A Farmer's Journey' memoir by James Rebanks

'The Elephant's Journey' A Novel by Jose Saramago Translated from the Portuguese by Margaret Jull Costa

'Farewell, Shanghai' A Novel by Angel Wagenstein Translated by Elizabeth Frank & Deliana Simonova

Carol came into the store to do her volunteer shift around 1 o'clock PM. She had Josie with her because Josie's school was closed due to the Winter weather.

On the way home from the Book Nook I stopped at two thrift stores to looks at their used books-Action House and Bible's For Mexico-I found these used books at these places-

'From A to X: A Story in Letters' by John Berger

'Let The Sea Make A Noise: Four Hundred Years of Cataclysm, Conquest, War and Folly in the North Pacific' History by Walter A. McDougall (I found out I already had this book so I will get rid of it)

'On Nature: Nature, Landscape, and Natural History' Edited By Daniel Halpern

'The Terror Dream: Fear And Fantasy In Post 9/11 America' by Susan Faludi

While Carol was out this morning she visited thrift stores and bought me these used books for my library-

'Woodrow Wilson' biography by Arthur Walworth

'The Dodges: The Auto Family Fortune and Misfortune' biography by Jean Madden Pitrone & Joan Potter Elwart

'Cheever: a life' biography by Blake Bailey

It is now 3:28 PM Friday afternoon. Last night I read late into the night from a novel titled, 'The Edwardians' by Vita Sackville-West.

I am tired so I will close to gather my wits. I need to lay down and get some rest before I fall apart.

3:34 p.m. - 2022-02-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act