glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

communicating a living knowledge of the mystery of God

It is 1:33 PM Tuesday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is a cold sunny day. The birds know Spring is coming from the way they have been acting lately.

I got up this morning around 6:10 AM. I got dressed and went upstairs to find Carol reading. She had made coffee, so I got a cup of coffee and sat in the dining room to wake up. After waking up somewhat I wrote in my paper diary and then made oatmeal for breakfast. Carol did not want oatmeal for breakfast. After making myself oatmeal I ate it (is that not exciting reading?) and then Carol and I talked about American Evangelical Spirituality in contrast to the Mystical Spirituality of St John of the Cross. After our discussion Carol read Tripp's devotional book, 'New Morning Mercies' and we then prayed.

I read this morning after writing in my paper diary I read, 'The Life of Jesus Christ' Part Two Volume 1, Chapters 1-57 by Ludolph of Saxony Translated By Milton T. Walsh.

Carol left this morning to do errands and I soon afterwards left the house to visit thrift stores, filled my van up with gas, go to Van Raalte Farm County Park to take pictures of a creek and to visit Bluestockings Book Shop.

At the Bluestockings Book Shop I bought these books with instore credit-

'Writer's at Work-The Paris Review Interviews' Edited By Malcolm Cowley

'The Asiatics' A Novel by Frederic Prokosch With An Introduction By Carl Van Doren

'Crete' Travel Writing by Barry Unsworth

'The Wooden Horse: The Liberation Of The Western Mind From Odysseus To Socrates' by Keld Zeruneith Translated from the Danish by Russell Dees and edited by W. Glyn Jones

'The Book Of Imaginary Beings' fantasy by Jorge Luis Borges Illustrated By Peter Sis Translated By Andrew Hurley

'The Vivisector' A Novel By The Nobel Laureate Of 1973 Patrick White

'The Book Of Yaak' Nature Writing by Rick Bass

After Bluestocking Book Shop I drove over to Salvation Army Thrift Store to look at their used books and found only one old used paperback titled, 'The Souls Of Black Folk' With A New Introduction By Randall Kenan By W. E. B. Du Bois.

Next I drove to Meijer's fill up my old 1993 Dodge van with gas and then drove over to Van Raatle Farm County Park to take pictures of the creek that flows through this County Park. After taking photos at Van Raatle Farm on the way home I stopped at Gateway Center Thrift Store to look at their used books. I found these used books at the Gateway Center-

'Shadow of the Silk Road' Travel Writing by Colin Thubron

'The Voyage Of The Narwhal' A Novel by Andrea Barrett

'The Piano Tuner' a novel by Daniel Mason

I came home after Gateway to eat lunch and then write in my online diaries. This afternoon Amazon delivered a book I had recently ordered titled, 'Jonathan Edwards: Spiritual Writings' [The Classics of Western Spirituality].

Last night I am too tired to write about, so I will close to post this online diary entry and then download the photos I took this morning on my walk at Van Raatle Farm County Park.

2:27 p.m. - 2022-02-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act