glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Christ the Lord is risen today

It is 3:46 PM Friday afternoon on a bitter cold day. If you were to go outside this evening you would immediately turn into a ice cube. Earlier today we had some sunshine, but now the sky is iron gray cold dismal.

I volunteered at the Book Nook today from 10 AM till 1 PM. I bought these used books at the Book Nook today-

'Books of the Century: A Hundred Years of Authors, Ideas and Literature' The New York Times Edited by Charles McGrath and the staff of the Book Review

'The Fear of Freedom' by Francis Biddle Introduction by Harold L. Jckes (a comprehensive study of the treatment of subversives in America, by FDR's Attorney General published in 1951

'Liberty's Exiles: American Loyalists in The Revolutionary World' by Maya Jasanoff

'The Distant Marvels' A Novel by Chantel Acevedo

'Three Complete Novels James M. Cain: The Postman Always Rings Twice, Double Indemnity, Mildred Pierce'

'The Edwardians' A Novel by V. Sackville West (at the Book Nook today I read this novel the whole three hours I was there-I collect the writings of V. Sackville West. I found this novel in the trash and immediately grabbed it from being destroyed. People at the Book Nook do not know about writers from the early British Modernism. V. Sackville West was close to Virginia Woolf (lovers?).

'Red Sky At Noon' A Novel by Simon Sebag Montefiore

'Rudyard Kipling To Rider Haggard: The Record of a Friendship' Edited By Morton Cohen

'Middlesex' A Novel by Jeffrey Eugenides

When I got home from the Book Nook I ate some food and catalogued the used books I bought today at the Book Nook. There is not much else to report. I once again work up at 4:45 AM with pain in my right leg. My left ear is always buzzing. I daily battle with depression and exhaustion. But I am saved and going to Heaven, so will flip out? The Lord gives me strength for today and hope for tomorrow.

This morning I did the usual stuff before leaving for the Book Nook at 9:45 AM. I read some more of the book 'Jonathan Edwards And Deification: Reconciling Theosis And The Reformed Tradition' by James R. Salladin. Last night I read from these two books before going to bed around 11:15 PM (did not fall asleep till 12:30 AM)-

'The Manuscript Found in Saragossa' novel by Jan Potocki Translated By Ian Maclean

'The Nakano Thrift Shop' a novel by Hiromi Kawakami Translated from the Japanese by Allison Markin Powell

I suppose I will close to face the coming darkness. Tomorrow is a Saturday. I have been praying for a miracle, God to heal my Sciatica and tinnitus. We have to believe God can heal us from all our physical and mental afflictions. If not healed in this life we/the saints will be at the time of the General Resurrection.

Christ the Lord is risen today;
Christians, haste your vows to pay;
Offer ye your praises meet
At the Paschal Victim’s feet.
For the sheep the Lamb hath bled,
Sinless in the sinner’s stead;
Christ is risen, today we cry;
Now He lives no more to die.

Christ, the victim undefiled,
Man to God hath reconciled;
Whilst in strange and awful strife
Met together Death and Life:
Christians, on this happy day
Haste with joy your vows to pay;
Christ is risen, today we cry;
Now He lives no more to die.

Christ, who once for sinners bled,
Now the first born from the dead,
Throned in endless might and power,
Lives and reigns forevermore.
Hail, eternal Hope on high!
Hail, Thou King of victory!
Hail, Thou Prince of life adored!
Help and save us, gracious Lord.

4:20 p.m. - 2022-02-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act