glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

holy fear that preserves and gives increase to the virtues

It is 1 o'clock PM Saturday afternoon here by Lake Michigan. We do not live on the shores of Lake Michigan, but we can drive to this Lake in 20 minutes. So outside the wind is howling and it is snowing. It is 25 degrees, but feel likes below zero. One can easily freeze to death outside if they did not have winter clothes on. I often so folks around town walking in this type of weather with wind jackets and shorts. I suppose some people love being icy cold.

Once again I woke up around 4:30 AM with pain in my right leg, so I got up. I got up dressed, turned on our portable electric heater and dozed on the lower level sofa till 6:30 AM. I could easily do down in the lower level right now and fall asleep.

When I came upstairs this morning I made a pot of oatmeal for breakfast. After breakfast I read to Carol from 'The Dark Night' by St John of the Cross for devotions and then we prayed. After prayer I wrote in my paper diary and read some more of 'The Dark Night'. Carol's younger brother Cal stopped this morning for a visit. After Cal left Carol and I had lunch and then Carol left to volunteer at the Book Nook our local library used books store from 1 PM till 5 PM. Carol is covering for someone at the Book Nook today. I have been reading this afternoon from a slim book titled, 'Seduction And Betrayal: Women And Literature' essays by Elizabeth Hardwick. I plan to watch professional football playoffs this afternoon going into the nighttime hours.

Last night I read from these two books late into the night-

'The Dolphin Letters, 1970-1979: Elizabeth Hardwick, Robert Lowell, and Their Circle' Edited by Saskia Hamilton

'A Splendid Intelligence: The Life Of Elizabeth Hardwick' by Cathy Curtis

Well since I am feeling extremely tired I will close to doze.

1:23 p.m. - 2022-01-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act