glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

prayer is the ascent of the mind to God

It is 12:29 PM Wednesday afternoon here in cold windy gray West Michigan. It is going to start snowing soon will and continue to snow into next week.

I got up this morning around 4:45 AM and could not get back to sleep due to my physical afflictions, so I got dressed and came upstairs around 5:15 AM. When I came upstairs Carol was also getting up to face another day on earth. Each day we are to wake up seeking Heaven. We are to be heavenly-minded. Set our affections on things above and not the things on the earth.

When I got up this morning I made a fresh pot of coffee and then wrote in my paper diary. After writing in my diary I read till Noontime, 'The Ascent of Mount Carmel' by St John of the Cross. Now it is 12:33 PM in the afternoon and Carol just left to do errands. My wife is always on the go. My wife has to be productive and accomplish something every day. Out of her constant experience of the life of God there flows out of her a constant stream of good works.

Lately I started reading once again a novel I read late into the night last night titled, 'The Manuscript Found in Saragossa' by Jan Potocki.

There is really nothing else to report this afternoon. Carol and I did have morning devotions this morning. Carol believes as a confessing member of a local conservative Presbyterian church she is to pray for the people in her congregation (the communion of the saints). My wife believes she is to bear the burdens of her brothers and sisters in Christ in the spiritual discipline of unceasing prayer.

I suppose I will close to wait to see what comes in the mail this afternoon. I am not really in the mood to doze while Carol is performing acts of mercy.

12:55 p.m. - 2022-01-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act