glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

direct joy to God

It is 2:23 PM Monday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is 29 degrees and snowy cold windy gray day. It is typical Michigan winter weather.

I am tired as usual. I got up this morning around 6:10 AM and when I came upstairs Carol suggested we go downtown to the Windmill Restaurant for pancakes. So I got dressed and we drove downtown Holland for breakfast. We have been going for meals at the Windmill for over 40 years. We were home from the Windmill around 7:30 AM. Carol read Tripp for devotions and then we had morning prayer. After prayer I went down into the lower level and dozed till 9:40 AM woke up and left to volunteer at our local library used books store The Book Nook from 10 AM till 1 PM. No one came into the bookstore so I wander the store and read, 'The Ascent of Mount Carmel' St John of the Cross. I bought one used book at the Book Nook today titled, 'Bacardi and The Long Fight for Cuba' Cuban History by Tom Gjelten.

When I got home from the Book Nook I found Carol in our kitchen. I ate lunch and talked to Carol about her morning. This morning one of her cousin's came over to learn from her how to make peanut brittle and to talk (this cousin is 80 years old and likes to talk about Family History).

The UPS man delivered this afternoon two new Penguin classics I had ordered ages ago-

'Selected Essays, Poems, and Other Writings' by George Eliot [Penguin Classics]

'Unto This Last and Other Writings' by John Ruskin [Penguin Classics]

Last night we watched the Professional Football Playoffs. We went to bed around 10:10 PM. Carol went to bed and I went down into the lower level where I sleep these days and read late into the night from a biography titled, 'A Splendid Intelligence: The Life Of Elizabeth Hardwick' by Cathy Curtis.

Well I need to close to rest. I am very tired this afternoon. This afternoon we have once again Josie Joy for the afternoon.

2:39 p.m. - 2022-01-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act