glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the Gilded Age meets the Progressive Era

It is 3:41 PM Wednesday afternoon here in West Michigan. We live not far from Lake Michigan. Soon we will have icebergs floating on Lake Michigan.

I got up this morning around 8 o'clock AM. When I got up I found my wife eating breakfast and working on her Woman's Bible Study on the Book of Exodus/Old Testament. I made for myself oatmeal for breakfast. After breakfast we had devotions and prayed. Carol suggested we drive over to Hudsonville after getting sunflower seeds and cracked corn for our birds in Zeeland. She said first she needed to go grocery shopping and do an errand and when she got back we would hit the road. Carol wanted to drive to Hudsonville to visit thrift stores in search of used books and also just to get out while the weather was not bad.

Carol and I left the house and around 10 o'clock AM and got home around 2:45 PM. While we were out we did stop in Hudsonville for lunch. These days we rarely eat out, maybe twice a month.

Here is a list of the used books I bought today at different thrift stores-

'The New York Stories of Edith Wharton' Selected And With An Introduction By Roxana Robinson (New York Review Classics)

'Myself the Other Fellow: A Life of Robert Louis Stevenson' biography by Claire Harman

'All the Great Prizes: The Life of John Hay, from Lincoln to Roosevelt' biography & American History by John Taliaferro

'Oblivion' Stories by David Foster Wallace

'The Meaning of Night-A Confession' historical fiction by Michael Cox

'The Complete Persepolis' a memoir-in-comic-strips by Marjane Satrapi

I am tired so I won't write anymore stuff. It has been a long day. Last night the last book I read before going to bed was from the novel, The Man of Property' by John Galsworthy. Yesterday I started reading again from a book titled, 'The Hour Of Fate: Theodore Roosevelt, J. P. Morgan, And The Battle To Transform American Capitalism' by Susan Berfield.

4:10 p.m. - 2021-10-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act