glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the least part of hell's torments

"4. It will not be the least part of hell's torments that hopeless, helpless spirits shall be tortured with fruitless wishes that they had not lost the invaluable advantages of their saving opportunities. Then they shall mourn and say, "How we hated instruction! How our hearts despised reproof, and did not obey the voice of our teachers, nor did we incline our ears to our instructors" (Proverbs 5:11-13). Every unprofitable wish that the time had been redeemed in this world will be as a renewed bloody lash on ulcerated wounded, tender bodies. O unwise children of men, who riot in the liberal indulgences to your flesh, even in the noontime of clear gospel light!

Take a serious view of these impertinent and afflictive wishes in the other world: "Oh, that God would grant one more day of grace! Oh, that I were to live my time over again! How I would look upon the flesh-displeasing, sharpest severities of repentance as favors! Oh, that I had kneeled on flints, and wept my eyes out in strong cries and tears for pardon! Oh, that I had given my goods to the poor! Oh, that I had exchanged the delights of the flesh for the pleasures of the Spirit, that I had been filled with the Spirit when I was drunk with wine! Oh, that I had watched over my loose heart day and night! Oh!, that I had fasted and prayed whole days and nights! Oh, that affliction had driven me to Christ, that I had gone through dirty lanes to a heavenly Father's house rather than through pleasant meadows to a prison, and a place of execution! Oh, that a godly, sorrowing life had ended in joy, and that a carnal, voluptuous life had not ended in eternal sorrows! Oh, that I had been a good husband, that I had hearkened to my friends, avoided undoing company, kept my shop, and improved time. I might never have come to this; but now I am undone, I am undone!"" pg. 14,15 'The Abuse of God's Grace' By Nicolas Claget

5:05 p.m. - 2021-09-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act