glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

progress in prayer is a serious matter

It is 2:48 PM Monday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is a hot gray humid day. I think it is around 83 degrees right now and it feels like it might rain.

I got up this morning around 8:15 AM. Carol left around 9:30 AM this morning to have breakfast with one of her cousins and then to visit local thrift stores. So I got up ate food and then wrote in my paper diary. Well I need back here, I ate breakfast and then Carol and I had devotions and prayed. After we prayed Carol left and I got ready to volunteer at the Book Nook our local library Used Books Store.

The Book Nook this morning was not busy. One person came in and bought some used biographies of celebrities'. While doing my volunteer shift at the Book Nook I read from these books-

The Book of Psalms/Old Testament/Bible

'Christian Asceticism' by Anselm Stolz, OSB

'"Beatus Vir" Commentary On The Davidic Psalms' Volume 1 Psalms 1-25 By Denis The Carthusian

I bought these used books at the Book Nook for our library-

'A View Of The Vatican' Text by Carla Cecilia

'A Bite-Size History of France: Gastronomic Tales of Revolution, War, and Enlightenment' by Stephane Helnaut & Jeni Mitchell

'Restoration Heights' A Novel by Wil Medearis

I got home from the Book Nook around 1:15 PM and soon behind me Carol got home from running around with her cousin Dianna. So has gone by this day. I am burning up so I will close to cool off down in the lower level. Last night I basically read late into the night from a book titled, 'The Red Count: The Life And Times Of Harry Kessler.

Carol bought me these used books this morning while she was visiting thrift stores with one of her cousins-

'Gandhi An Autobiography The Story of My Experiments With Truth' With A Foreword By Sissela Bok

'The Founding Fish' Essays by John McPhee

'Patriarch-George Washington and the New American Nation' biography by Richard Norton Smith

Onward, Christian soldiers,
Marching as to war,
With the cross of Jesus
Going on before.
Christ, the royal Master,
Leads against the foe;
Forward into battle
See His banners go!

Refrain

Onward, Christian soldiers,
Marching as to war,
With the Cross of Jesus
Going on before.

At the sign of triumph,
Satan’s host doth flee;
On then, Christian soldiers,
On to victory!
Hell’s foundations quiver
At the shout of praise;
Brothers, lift your voices,
Loud your anthems raise.

Refrain

Like a mighty army
Moves the Church of God;
Brothers, we are treading
Where the saints have trod.
We are not divided,
All one body we,
One in hope, in doctrine,
One in charity.

Refrain

What the saints established
That I hold for true.
What the saints believèd,
That I believe too.
Long as earth endureth,
Men the faith will hold—
Kingdoms, nations, empires,
In destruction rolled.

Refrain

Crowns and thrones may perish,
Kingdoms rise and wane,
But the Church of Jesus
Constant will remain.
Gates of hell can never
’Gainst that church prevail;
We have Christ’s own promise,
And that cannot fail.

Refrain

Onward then, ye people,
Join our happy throng,
Blend with ours your voices
In the triumph song.
Glory, laud and honor
Unto Christ the King,
This through countless ages
Men and angels sing.

Refrain

3:21 p.m. - 2021-09-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act