glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the moment of our departure comes like a thief in the night

It is 5:06 PM early Friday evening here in West Michigan. It is sunny and 75 degrees this evening. A nice evening to have roast pig and sweet corn for supper. Carol is not home tonight, because her church is putting on a Woman's Retreat. Carol is on the Woman's Ministry Broad, she is in charge of the Education for the women of her church. At this Woman's Retreat she decided to set-up a Book Table, so she will be busy selling books written by their Main Speaker.

I got up this morning around 8:30 AM. When I came upstairs Carol was getting ready for the day. I made a pot of oatmeal for our morning meal. After we ate our oatmeal we had devotions and prayed. Carol left to volunteer at the Book Nook around 9:35 AM. The plan was for me to come to the Book Nook to volunteer from Noon till 3 o'clock PM today. So that is what we did. I left for the Book Nook at 11:35 AM and when I got at the library used books store The Book Nook Carol was ready to take off.

At the Book Nook it was not busy so I read almost the end a novel titled, 'The Illustrious House Of Ramires' A Novel By Eca De Queiros Translated from the Portuguese, with a afterword by Margaret Jull Costa. Around 3 o'clock PM the volunteer who was going to the 3 PM to the 5 PM shift showed up. I left came home and ate food. After eating food I decided to mow our front lawn, so I did that. Our back yard did not need to be mowed today.

So this day has gone by. After mowing our lawn I cleaned and decided to write in my online diaries (which is a habit I can't break in my old age).

I did buy at the Book Nook I bought a used book titled, 'Freedom Summer: The Savage Season That Made Mississippi Burn and Made American a Democracy' By Brace Watson (I collect books on the 60's American Civil Rights Movement.)

This morning I read before going to the Book Nook from a volume titled, 'The Life Of Jesus Christ' Part One Volume 2, Chapters 41-92' By Ludolph Of Saxony Translated By Milton T. Walsh.

All read last night before going to bed was a book titled, 'Journey To The Abyss: The Diaries Of Count Harry Kessler 1880-1918' Edited By Laird M. Easton.

I will now close to rest and go into the evening hours. I got a DVD movie from our library on the life of the painter Turner that I might watch tonight on our main computer.

"[13] And one of the company said unto him, Master, speak to my brother, that he divide the inheritance with me.
[14] And he said unto him, Man, who made me a judge or a divider over you?
[15] And he said unto them, Take heed, and beware of covetousness: for a man's life consisteth not in the abundance of the things which he possesseth.
[16] And he spake a parable unto them, saying, The ground of a certain rich man brought forth plentifully:
[17] And he thought within himself, saying, What shall I do, because I have no room where to bestow my fruits?
[18] And he said, This will I do: I will pull down my barns, and build greater; and there will I bestow all my fruits and my goods.
[19] And I will say to my soul, Soul, thou hast much goods laid up for many years; take thine ease, eat, drink, and be merry.
[20] But God said unto him, Thou fool, this night thy soul shall be required of thee: then whose shall those things be, which thou hast provided?
[21] So is he that layeth up treasure for himself, and is not rich toward God." Luke 12:13-21

5:31 p.m. - 2021-09-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act