glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jesus Christ himself is the ideal of the hermit monk

It is 4:44 PM Monday late afternoon here in West Michigan. It is another hot hazy day. It is 82 degrees right now. We have not turned on the central air system yet. For some odd reason since my crack up last June I like being hot. Of course I can always escape the heat by going down in the lower level and cooling off. I remember years ago before we had central air I would take cold showers to cool myself off. In the past we have lived in Mississippi and Texas, both hot states to live in. It seems when we lived in Houston Texas it was hot all the time. We had air condition so that helped. I remember when lived in Texas every neighborhood had a pool and the kids and I would spent hours at our local neighborhood pool. Sometimes we would as a family take off and drive down to Galveston and swim in the Gulf of Mexico.

I got up this morning around 8:10 AM. I took a shower before going upstairs to greet my wife and have breakfast. After breakfast Carol and I talked and then we had devotions/we read for devotions from a book titled, 'New Morning Mercies' A Daily Gospel Devotional by Paul David Tripp. After we read Tripp Carol and I both pray.

I left to volunteer at our local library used books store The Book Nook around 9:35 AM. The books store was super not busy so I read from a book I bought at the Book Nook this morning titled, 'Return To The Dark Valley' A Novel By Santiago Gamboa Translated from the Spanish by Howard Curtis.

I got home from the Book Nook around 1 o'clock PM. When I got up Carol was in our dining room talking to one of our neighbors at the table. I made a fresh pot of coffee and then ate lunch. After lunch I mowed the front and back yard, which was a chore! I wanted to get our yard mowed before its get hotter. We are in drought conditions here in West Michigan. We need rain.

In the mail this afternoon I received a book I had ordered titled, 'Christian Asceticism' by Anselm Stolz, OSB Translated by Giles Conacher, OSB, Introduction by Donato Ogliari, OSB Foreword by Roberto Ferrari, OSB.

Last night I was basically wasted and went to bed early. Today I have felt awake, so that has been a blessing. You have good days and you have not so good days. The Lord though always remains the same/His love never changes.

Carol left this afternoon to take a meal to a family from her church. I will close to sweat. Tomorrow is a Tuesday.

Pss.84
[1] How amiable are thy tabernacles, O LORD of hosts!
[2] My soul longeth, yea, even fainteth for the courts of the LORD: my heart and my flesh crieth out for the living God.
[3] Yea, the sparrow hath found an house, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may lay her young, even thine altars, O LORD of hosts, my King, and my God.
[4] Blessed are they that dwell in thy house: they will be still praising thee. Selah.
[5] Blessed is the man whose strength is in thee; in whose heart are the ways of them.
[6] Who passing through the valley of Baca make it a well; the rain also filleth the pools.
[7] They go from strength to strength, every one of them in Zion appeareth before God.
[8] O LORD God of hosts, hear my prayer: give ear, O God of Jacob. Selah.
[9] Behold, O God our shield, and look upon the face of thine anointed.
[10] For a day in thy courts is better than a thousand. I had rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God, than to dwell in the tents of wickedness.
[11] For the LORD God is a sun and shield: the LORD will give grace and glory: no good thing will he withhold from them that walk uprightly.
[12] O LORD of hosts, blessed is the man that trusteth in thee.

5:09 p.m. - 2021-08-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act