glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the sufferings of Christ

It is 3:11 PM Monday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is another sunny warm day. It is 74 degrees outside this afternoon.

It has been a long day for me. Carol and I got up early to go get my blood drawn/we were out the door at 5:55 AM. The blood lab is only a couple minutes from where we live. I was the second one and was out by 6:15 AM. After getting my blood drawn Carol and I went downtown to the Windmill for breakfast. We have been eating meals at the Windmill for many years. It is strange that there is only a couple places one can get breakfast here in Holland.

We were home from the Windmill around 7:30 AM. I wrote in my paper diary and then went down in the lower level and slept till 9:25 AM. I got up and then left to volunteer at the Book Nook library used books store. Before opening the store I filled a paper bag with used books/today was the five dollar paper bag sale/the last day of the Friends of the Library Used Books Sale. I bought these used books for five dollars today-

'The Crimson Letter: Harvard, Homosexuality, And The Shaping Of The American Culture' By Douglas Shand-Tucci

'The High Flyer' A Novel by Susan Howatch

'A Relative Stranger' Stories by Charles Baxter

'Another Life' A Crime Novel by Andrew Vachss

'The Mystery Guest: an account' A Novel by Gregoire Bouillier Translated from the French by Lorin Stein

'John Updike and the three things: Sex, Religion, and Art' Literary Study by George Hunt

'Seven Men of Gascony' Historical Fiction by R. F. Delderfield

'The Trial Of Henry Kissinger' biography by Christopher Hitchens

'Selections from 119 Years Of The Atlantic' edited by Louise Desaulniers

'The Art Of Travel' nonfiction/essays by Alain De Botton

'The Business of Books: How International Conglomerates Took Over Publishing and Changed the Way We Read' by Andre Schiffrin

'Boston's Immigrants' nonfiction/American History/Boston MASS by Oscar Handlin

'Visions Of Gerard' fiction by Jack Kerouac

'The Last Good Kiss' a novel by James Crumley

'Cher and The Last Of Cheri' fiction by Colette

'The Vagabond' fiction by Colette

'A Place Of My Own: The Education of an Amateur Builder' nonfiction by Michael Pollan

I got all these used books for five dollars. Always books because I love books! I am book lover! I got home from the Book Nook around 1:20 PM. Carol had been doing stuff around the house/Ollie kept her company. I ate lunch and then catalogued the used books I got today into my LibraryThing site. After that activity I took Ollie for his afternoon walk. So has by this day thus far.

All I have read recently is the book, 'Looking Unto Jesus' by Isaac Ambrose. I finished reading at the Book Nook the Gospel of Mark/New Testament/Bible.

Oh the love that us redeemèd!
Who can all that love explore?
From the cross on us it beamèd,
Angel hosts that love, adore;
Wondrous love from Heav’n descending,
Men to raise to life on high!
Be our praise to Him ascending
Who for sinners deigned to die!

Holy Lamb of God! we bless Thee:
Thou our sins hast borne away;
King of kings our songs confess Thee,
Light of everlasting day!
What though still the world disown Thee,
Thou o’er Heav’n and earth dost reign;
In our hearts we, Lord, enthrone Thee,
Thou wilt not our love disdain.

For Thy sorrows we adore Thee,
For the griefs that wrought our peace:
Gracious Savior! we implore Thee,
In our hearts Thy love increase.
Lord, to Thee in sorrow flying,
May we find in Thee our rest:
Lord, on Thee in death relying,
May our end in Thee be blest.

3:43 p.m. - 2021-08-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act