glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Bible

It is 2:20 PM Wednesday afternoon here in the western part of the State of Michigan. We live not far from Lake Michigan. I can't recall the last time we drove out to view Lake Michigan. And here we are almost in the Summer Season when the beaches are once again packed with sun worshippers.

I am extremely tired so this is going to be very short diary entry today. This morning I left the house to visit our local Goodwill and found a ton of used books. After Goodwill I went across the street to Family Fare grocery store to get some food items. I then drove home because Carol and I were going out to lunch to celebrate our 42nd Wedding Anniversary. When I got home Carol was talking to Emily's mother through a open car window and watering our front lawn. Carol and I soon left to go out for lunch and then to visit thrift stores in search of used books. I am going to list ALL the used books I bought this morning and also this afternoon/a massive book haul!

'The Reformed Pastor' Pastoral Ministry by Richard Baxter

'The English Mediaeval Town' Mediaeval History by Colin Platt

'The Pursuit of the Millennium' European History/Eschatology by Norman Cohn

'The Heartbreaker' A Novel by Susan Howatch

'The High Flyer' A Novel by Susan Howatch

'The Book Of Jamaica' A Novel by Russell Banks

'Paper: Paging Through History' nonfiction by Mark Kurlansky

'Four Fish: The Future Of The Last Wild Food' nonfiction by Paul Greenberg

'Ancestral Passions: The Leakey Family And The Quest For Humankind's Beginnings' biography by Virginia Morell

'The Wonder Works' A Novel by Susan Howatch

'Collecting Books' Think Like An Expert by Matthew Budman

'Middlemarch' A Novel by George Eliot A Norton Critic Edition

'Reading in Bed: Brief headlong essays about books & writers & reading & readers' by Brian Doyle

'Floating in My Mother's Palm' A Novel by Ursula Hegi

'Hannah Arendt: For Love of the World' a biography by Elisabeth Young-Bruehl

'Dark Age Ahead' Cultural Studies by Jane Jacobs

'The Way The Crow Flies' A Novel by Ann-Marie MacDonald

'The Days Of The French Revolution' French Revolution/European History by Christopher Hibbert

'When Nietzsche Wept' A Novel Of Obsession by Irvin D. Yalom

'Genuine Reality: A Life Of William James' biography by Linda Simon

'Jean Santeuil' A Novel by Marcel Proust Translated by Gerard Hopkins

'Mr. Peanut' a novel by Adam Ross

'My Name Is Red' A Novel by Orhan Pamuk Translated from the Turkish by Erdag M. Goknar

'The Black Book' A Novel by Orhan Pamuk Translated from the Turkish by Maureen Freely

'View From The Summit' A Memoir by Sir Edmund Hillary

'The Complete Poems' Jonathan Swift

'Survival in Auschwitz' memoir by Primo Levi

'The Classical Tradition: Greek And Roman Influences On Western Literature' by Gilbert Highet

'Hannah Arendt' [Lives Of Modern Women] biography by Derwent May

'Foundation: The History Of England From Its Earliest Beginnings To The Tudors' by Peter Ackroyd

'A Collection Of Essays' by George Orwell

When we got home I was beat and all I can do was catalogued my new used books into my LibraryThing site/which was a killer! Carol is still sick with a cold. In the mail this afternoon I received a used book I had ordered titled, "Fire and Knowledge: Fiction and Essays' by Peter Nadas Author of 'A Book of Memoirs' Translated From The Hungarian By Imre Goldstein.

I need to close to recover from this day.

3:01 p.m. - 2021-05-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
koorikaze
browndamask
lobo21
mal-adjusted
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act