glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the insane who has been cured are not promoted to ecclesiastical office

It is 1:30 PM Tuesday afternoon here in West Michigan. It has been a cold damp gray ugly day. I hope the plants don't die because of this freezing weather. It is unusually cold for this being late Spring. But once again I know Spring here in Michigan is normally cold and it does not get warm till the middle of May and the first weeks of June.

I got up this morning around 6:30 AM. Carol was up and she told me she had gotten up around 4:15 AM. So I got made a fresh pot of coffee and ate breakfast. After breakfast I wrote in my paper diary and then messed with our main computer. The world is going to hell, especially America. I spent the morning reading from a book titled, 'The Life of Jesus Christ' Part One Volume 2, Chapters 41-52 by Ludolph of Saxony Translated By Milton T. Walsh. Last night I read till past Midnight. 'Philip Roth: The Biography' by Blake Bailey. I also read last night from a book titled, 'Masscult And Midcult: Essays Against The American Grain' by Dwight MacDonald.

Late this morning Carol and I left to check out places for used books. I bought these used books at various places-

'The Girl from the Fiction Department: A Portrait Of Sonia Orwell' biography by Hilary Spurling

'Sunset And Twilight: From the Diaries of 1947-1959' by Bernard Berenson

'The Education Of A Yankee" An American Memoir' by Judson Hale

'The Ghost Writer' A Novel by Philip Roth

'Penmarric' A Novel by Susan Howatch

'Disturbing The Peace' A Memoir by Vaclav Havel A Conversation with Karel Hvizdala

'August Heat' An Inspector Montalbano Mystery by Andrea Camilleri Translated by Stephen Sartarelli

'Love In A Dark Time And Other Explorations of Gay Lives and Literature' by Colm Toibin

'The Accidental Life' An Editor's Notes on Writing and Writers' by Terry McDonell

'The Original of Laura' A novel in fragments by Vladimi Naboko

When we got home from our travels we had lunch and I catalogued the used books I bought this morning in my LibraryThing site. So has gone by Time thusfar. This afternoon we babysit Josie Joy when she gets out of school, Caleb drops her off.

Well I will close to get a cup of coffee and look at my books.

1:54 p.m. - 2021-04-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
koorikaze
browndamask
lobo21
mal-adjusted
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act