glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

to know and love God was to become Him

It is 12:17 PM Thursday afternoon on a cold bright sunny day. It is a blessing to have a sunny day.

I got up this morning around 6:15 AM. When I got up I found my wife having morning devotions. My wife reads through the Bible every year and prays for the world. So I got up got myself a glass of cold water and sat in my living room chair to wake up to a world wide COVID-19 plague. At least I can wake up knowing Trump is gone or least no longer President. I hope and pray Biden's Presidency is calm/not so bombastic.

After I woke up Carol and I ate breakfast, talked and prayed. After prayer I wrote in my paper diary and read. Carol left to do volunteer activity. I left to visit local thrift stores to search for used books to add to our library. I found these used books this morning-

Bible New King James Version/translation

'Websterisms: A Collection of Words and Definitions Set Forth by the Founding Father of American English' Compiled By Arthur Schulman With An Introduction By Jill Lepore

'The Comic in Theory & Practice' Literary Criticism Edited by John J. Enck

'My Fathers' Ghost Is Climbing in the Rain. a novel by Patricio Pron Translated from the Spanish by Mara Faye Lethem

'Fragrant Harbor' a novel by John Lanchester

'The Empty Family: Stories' by Colm Toibin

'Mothers and Sons: Stories' by Colm Toibin

'The Damnable Question: A History Of Anglo-Irish Relations' British History/Irish History by George Dangerfield

It is 12:25 PM Carol just got home from volunteering. I read from these books this morning for devotions-

'The Life Of Jesus Christ Part One Volume 1, Chapters 1-10' by Ludolph Of Saxony Translated And Introduction By Milton T. Walsh (I received this book in the mail yesterday)

'Introducing Medieval Biblical Interpretation: The Senses of Scripture in Premodern Exegesis' by Ian Christopher Levy

'Interpreting Scripture with the Great Tradition: Recovering the Genius of Premodern Exegesis' by Craig A. Carter

Last night the last book I read was titled, 'Three Studies In Medieval Religious And Social Thought' by Giles Constable/'The Ideal of the Imitation of Christ' essay by Giles Constable in this excellent work.

I will close to rest. Once again I did sleep soundly last night.

12:36 p.m. - 2021-01-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
tobehis
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act