glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the pursuit of glory

It is 1:38 PM Wednesday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is another cold sunny day. I am thankful it has not snowed yet. Carol told me this morning that Ohio was hit with 16 inches of snow.

I got up this morning around 6:15 AM. When I got up I found Carol in her spot in our living room. She told me she had been up for three hours already, she had gotten up around 4 o’clock AM. I think Carol gets up early to be alone with the Lord Jesus in prayer.

So I got up got a glass of cold water and sat in my living room chair to wake up to another day. After I woke up somewhat I got a cup of coffee and messed with our main computer for awhile. Next I cooked myself breakfast and after I ate I wrote in my paper diary. I was not in the mood this morning to read anything. I suppose I was tired mentally this morning. I do not remember right now what I did this morning. I do remember leaving the house this morning around 10 o’clock AM to pick up a prescription. Carol left this morning to do errands. While I was out I stopped at local thrift stores to look at their used books and found these used books at a Goodwill Thrift Store-

‘Courting Mr. Lincoln’ A Novel By Louis Bayard

‘Jefferson And Hamilton: The Rivalry That Forged A Nation’ American History/Biography by John Ferling

‘Life, Death, And Entertainment in the Roman Empire’ Edited by D. S. Potter & D. J. Mattingly

‘Chances Are. . .’ A Novel By Richard Russo

When I got home Carol was still gone. On one of her errands she was delivering a meal to a family. Carol was soon home right after I got home. She told me she had seen a bunch of history books at Ditto’s Thrift Store and she had taken a photo of them on her cell phone for me to check out. I looked at the photo of the used history books and decided to drive over to Ditto’s and buy some of them before they were gone. I found these used books at Ditto’s today for our library-

‘The Pursuit of Glory: The Five Revolutions That Made Modern Europe 1648-1815’ by Tim Blanning

‘The Price Of Inequality: How Today’s Divided Society Endangers Our Future’ by Joseph E. Stiglitz

‘The Founders And Finance: How Hamilton, Gallatin, and Other Immigrants Forged a New Economy’ by Thomas K. McGraw

‘An Empire On The Edge: How Britain Came to Fight America’ by Nick Bunker

‘The Fall of the House Of Dixie: The Civil War And The Social Revolution That Transformed The South’ by Bruce Levine

‘Catastrophe 1914: Europe Goes To War’ by Max Hastings

‘Traitor To His Class: The Privileged Life and Radical Presidency of Franklin Delano Roosevelt’ biography by H. W. Brands

‘Symphony For The City Of The Dead: Dmitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad’ by M. T. Anderson

‘The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich: A History of Nazi Germany’ by William L. Shirer

‘Five Days in London May 1940’ by John Lukacs

‘Inventing Freedom: How The English Speaking Peoples Made The Modern World’ by Daniel Hannan

‘A Splendid Exchange: How Trade Shaped the World’ by William J. Bernstein

‘Strange Piece Of Paradise: A Return To The American West To Investigate My Attempted Murder-And Solve The Riddle Of Myself’ Memoir by Terri Jentz

‘The Unmaking Of The Middle East: A History of Western Disorder in Arab Lands’ by Jeremy Salt
‘A Nation of Deadbeats: An Uncommon History of America’s Financial Disasters’ by Scott Reynolds Nelson

‘Hemingway On The China Front: His WWIII Spy Mission With Martha Gellhorn’ biography by Peter Moreira

Well that is a lot of used books to add to our library! Where am I going to place them down in the lower level that is the mystery.

I need to close to rest. Existence keeps disappearing.

2:42 p.m. - 2020-12-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
catsoul
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act