glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

laying down the sword

It is 1:42 PM Thursday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is a sunny day. It a day to wear a sweat shirt and a hat. I am going bald so I need to wear a hat to keep my head from turning to ice. I do not want a frozen brain.

I got up this morning around 7:05 AM. I got up to find what I usually find when I get up in the morning. Carol was getting ready to go for her morning walk when I got up. I got up and got myself a cup of coffee and wrote in my paper diary. After writing in my diary I messed with our main computer and then cooked myself eggs for breakfast. Carol had told me before she left that this morning she wanted to visit thrift stores to look for a used office chair and a used living room chair. While at these thrift stores we could look at their used books/that would be fun.

This morning we left the house around 10 o'clock AM to visit thrift stores. I found these used books this morning while we searched for used chairs-

'The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox' a novel by Maggie O'Farrell

'Laying Down The Sword: Why We Can't Ignore The Bible's Violent Verses' by Philip Jenkins

'Invisible Monsters Remix' a novel by Chuck Palahniuk

'The Love of My Youth' a novel by Mary Gordon

'Familiar' a novel by J. Robert Lennon

'World War II Writings' by A. J. Liebling [Library of America]

'The Discreet Hero' a novel by Mario Vargas Llosa Translated By Edith Grossman

'A Pilgrimage To Eternity-From Canterbury To Rome In Search of A Faith' by Timothy Egan

When we got home we ate lunch and I cataloged the used books I got today into my LibraryThing site. So the day has gone by. A simple day of existence.

Last night I mainly read till 11:45 PM 'Baron Wenckheim's Homecoming' A Novel by Laszlo Krasznahorkai Translated from the Hungarian by Ottilie Mulzet. Now it is another day. We are coming to the end of another week. All around us fires rage and hurricanes blow. People are dying from a plague and America is in chaos.

I will close to drift. I did not have my devotional time this morning. I need to seek the Lord while He may be found.

2:09 p.m. - 2020-09-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
catsoul
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act