glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

take time to be holy

It is 12:06 PM Tuesday afternoon in the flow of the history of mankind. It is a warm sunny day here in West Michigan.

I got up this morning around 7 o'clock AM and found my wife getting ready to meet a friend for breakfast in South Haven. My wife has many friends here and in other places. This friend my wife hooked up with this morning she has known her entire life/they grew up together. I wish I had friends from my childhood days. I never had friends growing up. Before I was married I had several girlfriends/lovers but no male friends. I had male friends when we attended Reformed Bible College and Seminary. But those friendships disappeared after we left college and seminary. Now I have one friend here where we have lived going on 30 years. Like the old saying goes "to have friends you have to be a friend". I am poor at starting and maintaining friendships. I am a loner. I have my own little private world in the Godhead.

So I got up this morning and immediately got a cup of coffee and messed with our main computer. Carol left around 8:30 AM to drive to South Haven to meet up with her friend for breakfast. I spent the morning reading the Bible/Leviticus/Old Testament and a commentary on Leviticus by Andrew Bonar.

I also read this morning from a book titled, 'Biblical Theology According to the Apostles: How the earliest Christians told the story of Israel' by Chris Bruno, Jared Compton, & Kevin McFadden. I also filmed a video this morning for my Youtube channel. So went by the morning hours and we are now into the afternoon hours. Existence keeps zooming by!

Last night we watched some television/PBS and Carol went to bed early. I stayed up and read till Midnight from a novel titled, 'Red Pill' by Hari Kunzru. This afternoon I plan to read 'The Life of Samuel Johnson' by James Boswell.

I will close to drift through the rest of this day. We are now in the middle of the month.

Take time to be holy,
Speak oft with thy Lord;
Abide in Him always,
And feed on His Word.
Make friends of God’s children,
Help those who are weak,
Forgetting in nothing
His blessing to seek.

Take time to be holy,
The world rushes on;
Spend much time in secret,
With Jesus alone.
By looking to Jesus,
Like Him thou shalt be;
Thy friends in thy conduct
His likeness shall see.

Take time to be holy,
Let Him be thy guide;
And run not before Him,
Whatever betide.
In joy or in sorrow,
Still follow the Lord,
And, looking to Jesus,
Still trust in His Word.

Take time to be holy,
Be calm in thy soul,
Each thought and each motive
Beneath His control.
Thus led by His Spirit
To fountains of love,
Thou soon shalt be fitted
For service above.

12:30 p.m. - 2020-09-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
catsoul
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act