glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the Word is mightier than the world

It is 1:50 PM Friday afternoon. A cloudy overcast day. It feels like it could rain.

It has been a normal day. I got up this morning around 6:15 AM. I woke up feeling groggy. Carol was on our main computer when I got up. I sat for awhile seeking to wake and then I messed with our main computer. After messing with our main computer I wrote in my paper diary and read for morning devotions from a book titled, 'Seeing By The Light: Illumination in Augustine's and Barth's Reading of John' by Ike Miller. I also read this morning from a Puritan classic titled, 'Looking Unto Jesus' by Issac Ambrose.

Carol left this morning to go grocery shopping. When she got back I was still reading my books. Later I worked outside preparing a small portion of ground in our backyard where I plant wildflower seeds. I planted the seeds and now we will see what blooms. The last couple of years different flowers have bloomed, so we will see if anything different appears. I helped Carol trimmed a big bush rubbing against the back of our house. So went the morning hours.

This afternoon when not fighting to stay awake I have been reading from a book titled,'Before The Storm: Barry Goldwater and the Unmaking of the American Consensus' by Rick Perlstein. I have really been enjoying reading this book, 'Before The Storm'. I look forward to reading these other volumes by Rick Perlstein, 'Nixonland: The Rise Of A President And The Fracturing Of America', and 'The Invisible Bridge: The Fall Of Nixon And The Rise Of Reagan'. I have already pre-ordered the fourth volume in this series titled, 'Reaganland: America's Right Turn 1976-1980'. Rick Perlstein is a fine writer of American Political History. I highly recommend all Perlstein's books. Reading Perlstein makes me see with clearer light what is going on now in American Politics/the age of Trump.

Last night I read 'Before The Storm' and 'Freak Kingdom: Hunter S. Thompson's Manic Ten-Year Crusade Against American Fascism' by Timothy Denevi.

Carol went to bed early and I stayed up and read late into the night. So this day goes by in a blur. Right now Carol is sleeping and I am writing in my online diaries. I will close to feel wasted. There is no way of escape. The world has gone nuts.

2:19 p.m. - 2020-05-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act