glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

all things must be done to God's glory

It is 2:22 PM Monday afternoon here in Holland Michigan. It is a bitter snowy day. I am glad I do have be on the roads today. I volunteered this morning at our local library used books store from 10 o'clock AM till 1 o'clock PM. Now I do not have to leave the house for a couple of days. I have food and water so I good for awhile. We never know when we will be wiped out by a killer virus. Now is the time to prepare for our day of judgment. We can not escape from the hands of a Mighty Sovereign God who is the Judge of the living and the dead.

I got up this morning around 6:30 AM. Last night I did not take any alprazolam so I did not sleep as deeply as I have since Carol has been away. I only take usually a half a tablet because a whole pill makes me want to fall asleep. So I slept poorly last night, weird dreams all night. So I got up around 6:30 AM made a fresh pot of coffee and a portion of hot oatmeal for breakfast. I ate my oatmeal while messing with our main computer. In the mornings I get on the computer meaning the internet and check for e-mail and then I read some News. Next I watch videos and read music reviews or book reviews.

When I got off the internet I wrote in my paper diary and then read from Volume 8 'The Works of William Perkins' his treatise A DISCOURSE ON CONSCIENCE.

I left for the library used books store The Book Nook around 9:40 AM. The store was very quiet and slow so I wandered the store and read mainly from a book titled, 'The Europeans: Three Lives And The Making Of A Cosmopolitan Culture' by Orlando Figes. I brought home from the Book Nook four used books to ADD to our library-

'Babel Tower' a novel by A.S. Byatt

'Wolf' a memoir by Jim Harrison

'The Second Angel' a novel by Philip Kerr

'The Best Cook In The World: Tales from My Momma's Southern Table' by Rick Bragg (this book I got for Carol)

When I got home from the Book Nook there was a box on our front porch from Hamilton Books. I recently ordered four books from Hamilton Books that I wanted to read in the year 2020. These are the four books I got today to place on my To Be Read Pile-

'Flaubert In The Ruins Of Paris: The Story Of A Friendship, A Novel, And A Terrible Year' biography by Peter Brooks

'William Godwin: Philosopher, Novelist, Revolutionary' biography by Peter Marshall

'American Witness: The Art And Life Of Robert Frank' biography by RJ Smith

'Life In Culture: Selected Letters Of Lionel Trilling' Edited By Adam Kirsch

So Time goes by. Carol has not called me yet today. I suppose I will close to feel wasted. Last night I ate dinner over at Caleb and Emily's and watched football. Cora and Josie were on their tablets as we watched football. I got home around 6:20 PM and watched another football game. The 49er's and the Chief's will be in the Superbowl this year. Should be a good game. I turned off the television when I knew that the Packer's had loss and read late into the night from the book, 'The Europeans: Three Lives And The Making Of A Cosmopolitan Culture' by Orlando Figes.

I will close to drift, write in my diary and read my books. I also will look at my new stack of books. I love books! I am a book lover!

2:56 p.m. - 2020-01-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act