glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

God so loved the world

It is 11:43 AM late Sunday afternoon here in the frozen North well Holland Michigan. At least it is not snowing presently. I hope it does not snow at all this Winter. I prefer mild cold weather but not icy cold snowy weather. Anyway I am at a loss what to do with myself since I feel absolutely at of it today. Maybe in my old age I am slowly losing my ability to focus anything. In the end everything is slowly passing away, so why freak out.

This afternoon when our local library opens I have to take there Carol's books from her Woman's Book Club. These books are overdue and Carol is tired of receiving texts from the library reminding her to return these books. After going to our local library I plan to go downtown to Reader's World Bookstore and pick up Sunday newspapers and to look around. I might go to a grocery store on the way home from Reader's World. So this day goes by slowly but surely. The football game I plan to watch today does not come on till 4:30 PM.

I want to now quote something that has been on my mind since I read it in the Puritan reprint 'Moses' Choice' by Jeremiah Burroughs. The other night Carol and I were watching, well Carol was watching and I could not watch it because such subject matter makes me feel sick inside. What the television show was about was about the planets/the solar system. Carol is interest in the planets, the moon, and stars. Personally when I see photos of the solar system I get sick inside. I begin to feel existential dread. I begin to feel in seeing photos of vast areas of space/billions and billions of stars/infinite finite outer space I feel like I am absolutely nothing. I have to exercise faith at the point and believe there is a personal God who loves me and died for me on the Cross of Calvary two thousand years ago. When I told Carol what I was feeling when I watch or see photos of Outer Space/existential dread she quoted John 3:16 "For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in Him should not perish but have eternal life". We meaning Christians have to believe God created the planet earth for a divine purpose. The people in the television show on the Solar System kept saying that life evolved from water and not from a Creator God. I do not believe in the belief system called evolution. I believe in the creation account set forth in the Old Testament/Bible The Book of Genesis. Also the doctrine of creation is set forth throughout the pages of the Bible.
As a Christian I have a radical different narrative when it comes to why God the Father created the universe/planets/star systems/the planet earth. This is where what I read the other day in the book 'Moses Choice' comes in. I like to quote from this Puritan reprint in light of what I just wrote above-

"And now because God would have further delight, though there is nothing that He can infinitely communicate Himself unto but His Son, yet that He may have such delight as His creature may understand, He makes a world; and the special end why God made the world, is that He might have creatures to communicate Himself unto, in His wisdom, goodness, and glory. And therefore those creatures that are most capable of God's communicating Himself unto are called God's "delight." God rejoices in the habitable parts of the earth because there are creatures that He can communicate Himself unto-and especially His pleasure is among His people, because there are creatures that are capable of His communicating of Himself. Thus you see that the delight of God is communicating Himself." Jeremiah Burroughs pg. 174

God did not have to create anything the Solar System or any of the planets. God determined out of His own sovereign will to create the planet earth and created man/women/humanity creatures that bear His divine image "that He might have creatures to communicate Himself unto" "the delight of God is communicating Himself".

These words of the Lord Jesus in John 17 come to my mind in the light of the above, "I have manifested Your name to the men whom You have given Me out of the world. They were Yours, You gave them to Me, and they have kept your word. Now they have known that all things which You have given Me are from You. For I have given to them the words which You have given Me; and they have received them, and have known surely that I came forth from You; and they have believed that You sent Me" John 17:6-8 "the delight of God is communicating Himself".

1:54 p.m. - 2020-01-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act