glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

an existential detective story

It is 3:23 PM Friday afternoon here in west Michigan. It is a hot humid windy afternoon today. This morning it rained cats and dogs. During the night we had severe thunderstorms and a tornado touched downed in Grand Rapids. The storm did a lot damaged throughout west Michigan, but we were spared once again.

I am very tired so I better get going and write something down before I fall asleep. This morning I got up at 5 o'clock AM with my wife and since then I have been exhausted. I would love to just shut my eyes and go to sleep right now, but we are having Emily, Caleb, Josie, Cora and Ollie their dog over for dinner this evening.

I volunteered at the Book Nook today, which went OK. The store was busy, but I did read from a book titled, 'Stephen Spender: Journals 1939-1983' Edited By John Goldsmith. I brought home from the Book Nook these used books to ADD to our library-

'Les Miserables' a novel by Victor Hugo A new translation by Julie Rose [Modern Library]

'A Batsford Century: A Record of a Hundred Years of Publishing and Bookselling 1843-1943' Edited By Hector Bolitho

'Gone With the Wind' a novel by Margaret Mitchell

'Studies In Pessimism' by Arthur Schopenhauer [Modern Library 1917 edition]

'Why Does The World Exist? An Existential Detective Story' by Jim Holt

'My Sister, My Love' a novel by Joyce Carol Oates

'The Empty Family' Stories by Colm Toibin

'Faithless tales of transgression' by Joyce Carol Oates

This afternoon I had to do an errand and while out I visit a near by thrift store I found these used books to ADD to our library-

'The Tiger's Wife' a novel by Tea Obreht

'Then We Came To The End' a novel by Joshua Ferris

'To Rise Again At A Decent Hour' a novel by Joshua Ferris

Not much else to report this afternoon. Last night I do not remember right now. I suppose I will close to sweat and feel exhausted.

3:45 p.m. - 2019-09-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act