glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

diary of a Yuppie

It is 2:54 PM Friday afternoon here in west Michigan. It has been a cold gray dismal day. We already miss the sunshine.

I got up this morning around 7:35 AM. I got up got myself a bottle of ice water and sat in the living room seeking to wake up. Carol was up making chicken soup in the kitchen while I sought to find the strength and courage to face the world. Finally I decided to get off my ass and eat something for breakfast. I ate for a morning meal (are you ready for this) I ate a bowl of Life cereal for breakfast. After breakfast I wrote in my paper diary. I do not remember reading anything this morning. I do not remember what I did up till we left for the library. Carol dropped me off at the library this morning because my old van is in the auto repair shop. I volunteer at the library used books store The Book Nook on Friday's and Monday's from 10 o'clock AM till 1 o'clock PM. I have been volunteering at the Book Nook for a 11 years. We have lived in this house 28 years. Carol and I have been married 40 years. Our oldest son is 38 years old. Life is zooming by. Soon we all must face the Day of Judgement and give an account of our lives.

Today the Book Nook was not busy nor was it slow. When not helping people with their items I read from a book titled, 'Cold Warriors Writers Who Waged The Literary Cold War' by Duncan White. I brought these used books today at the Book Nook-

'The Private Memoirs And Confessions of a Justified Sinner' by James Hogg

'Sight-Readings American Fiction' essays by Elizabeth Hardwick

'Oh What Paradise It Seems' a novel by John Cheever

'Wild Nights: Stories About The Last Days Of Poe, Dickinson, Twain, James, And Hemingway' by Joyce Carol Oates

'The Land of Green Plums' a novel by Herta Muller Translated by Michael Hofmann

'American Poetry Since 1970: Up Late' Selected And With An Introduction by Andrei Codrescu

'Turtle Island' poetry by Gary Snyder

'Dylan Thomas: A New Life' biography by Andrew Lycett

'A People's Tragedy: The Russian Revolution: 1891-1924' by Orlando Figes

'Dance of the Happy Shades And Other Stories' by Alice Munro

'Life Can Be Both Wave and Particle Stories' by Ellen Gilchrist

'Light Years' a novel by James Salter

'Travels In The Scriptorium' a novel by Paul Auster

'Bech Is Back' a novel by John Updike

'The Book Class' a novel by John Auchincloss

'Diary Of A Yuppie' a novel by John Auchincloss

'Tales of Yesteryear' a novel by John Auchincloss

I brought home these used books today to read while I wait for my last day in earth. In the mail this afternoon I received a used book I had ordered from Amazon titled, 'Jean Cocteau & Andre Gide: An Abrasive Friendship' biography by Arthur King Peters.

Last night we watched professional football. When Carol went to bed I stayed up late and read from a book titled, 'The Money Cult: Capitalism, Christianity, And The Upmaking Of The American Dream' by Chris Lehmann.

Well I suppose I will close to read and write till it is time to jump ship and swim to shore.

3:24 p.m. - 2019-09-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act