glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

grafted into the gospel

It is 1:41 PM Thursday afternoon here in western Michigan. It is a warm gray afternoon. Autumn is in the air these last days of Summer 2019.

Carol just left to visit a blind lady she knows from her church. Carol went to read to her the church bulletin. I have been reading my books today and trying to not fall asleep. I need to move this 67 year old body. I need to take up long distance running or bike racing.

I got up this morning around 6:15 AM. Carol was up already reading through the Prophecy of Jeremiah in the Old Testament. When I got up I got a bottle of cold water and sat in the living room slowly waking up to another day. I am thankful I can wake up slowly and not have to zoom off to some horrible mind numbing job. I am thankful I can live a contemplative Christian life.

This morning was normal. I wrote in my paper diary and read from a volume titled, 'Biblical Theology of the New Testament' by Peter Stuhlmacher.

This afternoon I have been reading some more of the novel, 'Another Roadside Attraction' by Tom Robbins.

Yesterday Carol and I left the house around 3 o'clock PM to visit thrift stores before meeting up with Caleb, Emily, Josie, and Cora at Crazy Horse Steak House for a birthday celebration. At thrift stores we found these used books to add to our library-

'Jack Maggs' a novel by Peter Carey

'The Dead Secret' a novel by Wilkie Collins

'Ardor' non-fiction by Roberto Calasso

'A Sport and a Pastime' a novel by James Salter

'No Hurry To Get Home' a memoir by Emily Hahn

'Essential Acker: the selected writings of Kathy Acker' edited by Amy Scholder and Dennis Cooper with an Introduction by Jeanette Winterson

Around 5 o'clock PM we met Caleb, Emily, Josie, and Cora at Crazy Horse for dinner. After dinner we went over to Caleb and Emily's for birthday cake.

I came home before Carol to clean up and to write in my paper diary. Carol came home around 8:30 PM and went to bed early. I stayed up late and messed with our main computer and went to bed around 11:15 PM.

I will close to drift. Nothing came in the mail worth sharing with the dead. Tomorrow is a Friday in the death flow. Existence keeps disappearing.

2:06 p.m. - 2019-08-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act