glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a vanished golden age of European culture

It is 3:08 PM Monday afternoon here by Lake Michigan. We live in a small town here in western Michigan. My wife grew up here and has roots that dig deep into the Dutch American culture found in these parts of the country called America. As the saying goes If you are not Dutch your not much.

I have a typical Monday thus far. It is a hot cloudy day so we have the central air system blowing cool air throughout our house.

I volunteered at the Book Nook today from 10 o'clock AM till 1 o'clock PM. While at the Book Nook I read from these two books when not helping folks or talking-'Another Roadside Attraction' a novel by Tom Robbins and 'Garrets and Pretenders a History of Bohemianism in America' by Albert Parry.

I brought home from the Book Nook these used books to ADD to our library-

'Cadillac Jukebox' crime fiction by James Lee Burke

'Our Paris: Sketches from Memory' essays by Edmund White and Hubert Sorin

'Everyday Drinking: The Distilled Kingsley Amis' Introduction by Christopher Hitchens

'Virginia Woolf' [Penguin Lives] by Nigel Nicolson

'The Poet At The Breakfast Table' essays by Oliver Wendell Holmes

In the mail this afternoon I received these two books I had ordered from the New York Review-

'Letters Summer 1926 Boris Pasternak, Marina Tsvetayeva, & Rainer Maria Rilke' Preface By Sustan Sontag

'Three Summers' a novel by Margarita Liberaki Translated from the Greek by Karen Van Ryck

When I got home from the Book Nook I ate lunch and wrote in my paper diary. Next I cataloged the used books I bought today into my LibraryThing site. Now I am writing in my online diaries.

Last night I read 'Another Roadside Attraction' a novel by Tom Robbins and PBS Mysteries. We went to bed around 11:10 PM.

I do not recall reading anything this morning for devotions. Existence keeps flowing by. I will close to face the coming darkness.

3:51 p.m. - 2019-08-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act