glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a reappropriation of the divine life through the indwelling of the Holy Spirit

It is in the death flow 11:09 AM Sunday morning here in west Michigan. The sun is shining outside but it is hot so we have our caged closed down. We have our central air system blowing cool air into our living space. I am thankful for a living space in a dead world. I am thankful I am not homeless but that we have a solid roof over our heads as the world goes to the dogs.

I got up this morning around 7 o'clock AM. I once again fetched out of the ice box frozen waffles to toast in a toaster for a morning meal. After breakfast I messed with our main computer and then wrote in my paper diary. I am always writing in my paper diary. Well I keep a yearly diary meaning I am currently writing in my 2019 Paper Diary and I am on page 667 right now. It could be my last page since the Lord Jesus could come any moment I stop the whole shooting match.

I got out to read this morning for devotions a book titled, 'Reclaiming Participation: Christ as God's Life for All' by Cynthia Peters Anderson. I found this interesting from this book by Anderson-

"In Cyril's account, in which he follows the pattern of redemption that was primary in the early church, humanity was created in the image of God and Adam received the inbreathing of the Holy Spirit. Meyendorff notes that it is important to see in this Greek patristic pattern, outlined by Cyril, the intent for humans to live by graced participation in the life of God, and that only in this participative relationship are they truly human. Humans were also given free will and commandments to preserve this gift of life in the Holy Spirit, but disobeyed. This result in a gradual loss of the divine likeness as sin darkens the likeness and causes it to fade and degrade over time. Finally, when sin becomes dominant, human nature becomes devoid of this grace and the Spirit no longer dwells within it. Jesus, as the Incarnate Word, enables our reacquisition of the Spirit. The Holy Spirit forms the vital indwelling link between creation and God through the one person of Christ and provides a stable base for the Spirit's indwelling and transforming work in humanity. This is a concept Cyril inherited from Athanasius and developed into a major emphasis of his soteriology. The movement of the pattern is the gift and indwelling of the Holy Spirit, first given to Adam in creation, lost through the fall, and reappropriated in the Spirit through the Incarnate Word.

Jesus makes it possible for us to recover this divine image, not simply through a remaking of our deformed or corrupt nature, but also by a reappropiation of the divine life through the indwelling of the Holy Spirit. In the incarnation, the divine Son, who lacks nothing in himself, becomes human so that he can receive, as a human, the gift of the Holy Spirit that is crucial for human redemption and renewal. . ." pg. 42,43 Cynthia Peters Anderson

It is now 11:28 AM late Sunday morning. Carol got home from work around 9 o'clock AM and soon went to bed. I plan to drift through the day reading my books and writing in my paper diary. I will close for the time being. There is no way of escape.

I just remembered that this morning I filmed a video showing folks what books I read in the mornings.

11:34 a.m. - 2019-07-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act