glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ontologically grounded in Jesus

It is 3:49 PM Friday late afternoon in the death flow. It is 80 degrees this evening, but not extremely humid. It has been a long day. I feel like I have been up 24 hours.

I got up this morning around 6:45 AM. When I got up I found Carol sitting in the living room as usual. Carol asked if I wanted to go out for breakfast and I said No. I told her I get too full eating out for breakfast. I am more comfortable eating small meals as I travel to an early grave. Why fill my belly with pancakes when the world could go up in smoke anytime? It all seems absurd.

After breakfast I wrote in my paper diary and then messed with our main computers. I did get out to read this morning a book titled, 'Biblical Theology of the New Testament' by Peter Stuhlmacher, but never got around to reading it. Carol and I got into a big discussion on the end of the world this morning and before I knew it it was time for me to get ready to go to the Book Nook. I volunteer at the Book Nook our local library used books store on Friday's and Monday's from 10 o'clock AM till 1 o'clock PM.

Today the Book Nook was not busy so basically read some more of the novel, 'Nineteen Eighty-Four' by George Orwell. I brought home today from the Book Nook these used books to ADD to our library-

'Oscar Wilde' A Biography by Philippe Jullian Translated By Violet Wyndham

'The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis'

A Worldly Country' Poems by John Ashberry'

'In Our Time' essays by Tom Wolfe

'McSweeney's volume 31 literary journal

'The Art of The New Yorker 1925-1995' by Lee Lorenz

'Cataclysm: The First World War as Political Tragedy' by David Stevenson

'Five Plays' Jean Cocteau

'Betjeman' A Biography by A. N. Wilson

'Travels In The Interior Districts of Africa' by Mango Park Edited with an Introduction by Kate Ferguson Marsters

'For The Soul of France: Culture Wars In The Age Of Dreyfus' by Frederick Brown

'The Grove Press Reader 1951-2001' Edited by S. E. Gontarski

'The Changing Light At Sandover' A Poem by James Merrill

In the mail this afternoon I received a book I had ordered titled, 'Reclaiming Participation: Christ as God's Life for All' by Cynthia Peters Anderson.

Carol works the next three nights so she has been sleeping all afternoon. I am tired so I will close to sweat. Tomorrow is a Saturday.

"[6] Seeing it is a righteous thing with God to recompense tribulation to them that trouble you;
[7] And to you who are troubled rest with us, when the Lord Jesus shall be revealed from heaven with his mighty angels,
[8] In flaming fire taking vengeance on them that know not God, and that obey not the gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ:
[9] Who shall be punished with everlasting destruction from the presence of the Lord, and from the glory of his power;
[10] When he shall come to be glorified in his saints, and to be admired in all them that believe (because our testimony among you was believed) in that day.
[11] Wherefore also we pray always for you, that our God would count you worthy of this calling, and fulfil all the good pleasure of his goodness, and the work of faith with power:
[12] That the name of our Lord Jesus Christ may be glorified in you, and ye in him, according to the grace of our God and the Lord Jesus Christ." 2 Thess. 1:6-12

4:35 p.m. - 2019-07-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act