glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my father is a book

It is 5:11 PM early Friday evening here in west Michigan. It is 91 degrees this evening where we live. The earth is on fire.

I got up this morning around 6:10 AM. When I got up I found my wife in our living room reading the Bible. Carol was also making fresh blueberry muffins. I made a fresh pot of coffee and then wrote in my paper diary.

Carol left around 8 o'clock AM to meet a friend for breakfast. I left the house around 9 o'clock AM to look at used books on sale for the Friends of the Library used books sales before opening up the Book Nook.

Today at the Friends of the Library used books sale I found these old used books to ADD to our library-

'Journals of Ayn Rand' Edited by David Harriman

'The Intellectual Adventures of Ancient Man: An Essay on Speculative Thought in the Ancient Near East' Henri Frankfort

'The Trick of It' a novel by Michael Frayn

'Astray: Stories' by Emma Douoghue

'My Father Is A Book: A Memoir of Bernard Malamud' Jama Malamud Smith

'The Book In The Renaissance' by Andrew Pettegree

'The New York Chronology: The Ultimate Compendium of Events, People, And Anecdotes from the Dutch to the Present' James Trager

'The Mandelbaum Gate' a novel by Muriel Spark

'Art Chronicles 1954-1966' Frank O'Hara

'Tom: The Unknown Tennessee Williams' biography by Lyle Leverich

'T.S. Eliot' Literary Criticism by Stephen Spender

'A Scanner Darkly' Science Fiction by Philip K. Dick

'The Rush for Second Place: Essays And Occasional Writings' William Gaddis

'The Cambridge Companion To John Updike' Edited by Stacey Olster

'Lost Classics' edited by Michael Ondaatje

'The Glass Rainbow' A Dave Robicheaux Novel by James Lee Burke

'A Dream of Red Mansions' Classical Novel In Four Volumes By Cao Xueqin and Gao E Translated by Yang Xianyi and Gladys Yang

I got home from the Library around 2:30 PM. So the day has gone by. I have been reading this afternoon from a novel titled, 'The Fan Man' by William Kotzwinkle.

I will close for the day.

5:38 p.m. - 2019-07-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act