glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the tomb traditions of the Gospels

It is in the flow of eternal life in mystical union with the Risen Lord Jesus Christ 3:51 PM Wednesday afternoon. It is another hot day here in west Michigan. The fields have turned to dust and nothing is growing. Hopefully we can buy rice from Indian to survive this famine.

I volunteered today from 9:30 AM till 2:35 PM at our local library to help set up for this week's Friends of the Library Used Books Sale. It was hard back breaking work, but I got some old used books out of the ordeal. I plan to help throughout the Friends of the Library used books sale because I love books. I am a book lover and love spending my short life among books.

I bought these used books from the Friends of the Library used books sale today (I was able to get these used books early before the actual sale because I won't be able to go through the used books the day of the actual sale because I have to be in the Book Nook.)

'Inside George Orwell: A Biography' by Gordon Bowker

'Rant' a novel by Chuck Palahniuk

'The Lover' a novel by A. B. Yehoshua Translated From The Hebrew By Philip Simpson

'Summer In Baden-Baden' A Novel by Leonid Tsypkin Translated from the Russian by Roger and Angela Keys Introduction by Susan Sontag

'The Cambridge Companion To Walt Whitman' Edited by Ezra Greenspan

'Before Our Time: A Theory of the Sixties From a Religious, Social and Psychoanalytic Perspective' by Henry Idema III

'And our faces, my heart, brief as photos' essays by John Berger

'Letters of Marcel Proust' Translated by Mina Curtiss New Introduction by Adam Gopnik

'Factory Made: Warhol And The Sixties' biography by Steven Watson

'Modigliani: A Life' by Meryle Secrest

'Alice Neel: The Art of Not Sitting Pretty' biography by Phoebe Hoban

'Danube' travel by Claudio Magris Translated from the Italian by Patrick Creagh

'The Age of Wonders' A novel by Aharon Appelfeld Translated by Dalya Bilu

'The Borrower' a novel by Rebecca Makkai

After volunteering I drove home, but before coming home I stopped and bought five pounds of Mexican black and tan coffee beans.

I am pretty beat this afternoon so I will close to gather my wits. This morning I read for devotions 'Biblical Theology of the New Testament' by Peter Stuhlmacher. I made a video last night for my Youtube channel. I might make a video tonight if I am still in my right mind.

Carol works tonight and then is off for a couple of days. Our days on earth are flying by like eagles.

"[1] Moreover, brethren, I declare unto you the gospel which I preached unto you, which also ye have received, and wherein ye stand;
[2] By which also ye are saved, if ye keep in memory what I preached unto you, unless ye have believed in vain.
[3] For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures;
[4] And that he was buried, and that he rose again the third day according to the scriptures:
[5] And that he was seen of Cephas, then of the twelve:
[6] After that, he was seen of above five hundred brethren at once; of whom the greater part remain unto this present, but some are fallen asleep.
[7] After that, he was seen of James; then of all the apostles.
[8] And last of all he was seen of me also, as of one born out of due time.
[9] For I am the least of the apostles, that am not meet to be called an apostle, because I persecuted the church of God.
[10] But by the grace of God I am what I am: and his grace which was bestowed upon me was not in vain; but I laboured more abundantly than they all: yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me.
[11] Therefore whether it were I or they, so we preach, and so ye believed.
[12] Now if Christ be preached that he rose from the dead, how say some among you that there is no resurrection of the dead?
[13] But if there be no resurrection of the dead, then is Christ not risen:
[14] And if Christ be not risen, then is our preaching vain, and your faith is also vain.
[15] Yea, and we are found false witnesses of God; because we have testified of God that he raised up Christ: whom he raised not up, if so be that the dead rise not.
[16] For if the dead rise not, then is not Christ raised:
[17] And if Christ be not raised, your faith is vain; ye are yet in your sins.
[18] Then they also which are fallen asleep in Christ are perished.
[19] If in this life only we have hope in Christ, we are of all men most miserable.
[20] But now is Christ risen from the dead, and become the firstfruits of them that slept." First Corinthians 15:1-20

4:20 p.m. - 2019-07-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act