glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the age of images

It is 8:08 PM Monday evening here in west Michigan. It has been another very long and busy day for this old Papa. I am right now feeling the effects of too much activity and feasting. I think the last couple of days I have eaten more food than I eat in a month. I am sure I have gained a lot of weight. I normally eat like a small bird not like a giant fat guy. We all just got back from having another Pizza Party at our oldest son's place down the street. Now Beth and Carol are giving the grandchildren baths and then putting them to bed.

This morning I got up around 7 o'clock AM. When I came upstairs I found the house in full speed mode. I ate breakfast and got myself a cup of coffee. This morning I volunteer at the local library used books store The Book Nook from 10 o'clock AM to 1 o'clock PM. Carol, Beth, and the grandchildren came to the library and visited me at the Book Nook. Also Josiah and Hannah and Marika visited me at the Book Nook. Carol bought everyone a used book from the Book Nook. I bought these used books from the Book Nook today-

'Don't Send Flowers' A Mexican crime novel by Martin Solares Translated by Heather Cleary

'The Unwinding: An Inner History Of The New America' by George Packer

When I got home from the Book Nook at 1:20 PM no one was home yet from their morning outing. I ate lunch and wrote in my paper diary. While at the Book Nook I read off and on 'Abel And Cain' a novel by Gregor Von Rezzori.

When Carol got home with Beth and the grandchildren got home I was sitting in the dining room in a state of being blown away. I was sitting there wondering if what was happening around me was Real.

Carol mentioned to me we need a gallon of whole milk and two dozen eggs, so I left to do that errand. While out seeking eggs and milk I stopped at a local thrift store and found these used books to ADD to our library-

'Mile Zero' a novel by Thomas Sanchez

'The Woman Behind The New Deal: The Life and Legacy of Frances Perkins-Social Security, Unemployment Insurance, and the Minimum Wage' by Kirstin Downey

'Eurkea Street' A Novel Of Ireland Like No Other by Robert McLiam Wilson

'Wait for Me!' Memoirs by Deborah Mitford Duchess Of Devonshire

'Mae West "it ain't no sin"' biography by Simon Louvish

'Ava Gardner "Love Is Nothing"' biography by Lee Server

'The Inventor And The Tycoon: A Gilded Age Murder And The Birth Of Moving Pictures' non-fiction by Edward Ball

When I got home from a grocery store and a thrift store Carol was taking a nap with Marn, Andy was coloring with Lou, and Jack was wandering the house. Josiah was also here wanting to know if he wanted the lawn mowed. I said since he had no work shoes or old clothes to wear to forget it. Even though my left arm and left hand is extremely weak and sore I will get around to mowing the lawn someday. We all must embrace suffering as a way to purify our souls.

Well more could be written but I am stuffed and wasted. Existence keeps going by.

8:33 p.m. - 2019-07-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act