glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a used books haul

It is now 4:05 PM Tuesday afternoon. The sun is still shining outside. The power wash fellows never showed up to clean our house outside and to clean our windows. Carol got up around 2 o'clock PM from a nap. I left the house to do errands and while out I stopped at a local thrift store and bought some used books for our library. Carol and I are readers. I bought these used books this afternoon for four dollars-

'Between Two Rivers' a novel by Nicholas Rinaldi

'Sarajevo: A Biography' by Robert J. Donia

'Personal History' Memoir by Katharine Graham

'West of Here' A Novel by Jonathan Evison

'Nightmare In Pink' A Travis McGee Novel by John D. MacDonald

'The First Rumpole Ominibus' by John Mortimer

'Cork Boat' A Travel Memoir by John Pollack

'The Maples Stories' by John Updike [Everyman's Pocket Classics]

'A World of Profit' A Novel by Louis Auchincloss

'Where I'm Calling From: Stories' by Raymond Carver

This afternoon after reading a ton of 17th century Dutch Reformed Theology I got out to read 'Nemesis' a crime novel by Jo Nesbro. I read that till Carol got up around 2 o'clock PM. In the mail today I received two books I had ordered recently from Amazon, these two novels by both Russian writers-

'Stalingrad' A Novel by Vasily Grossman Translated By Robert Chandler & Elizabeth Chandler [AN NYRB Classics Original]

'Laurus' A Novel by Eugene Vodolazkin Translated from the Russian by Lisa C. Hayden

So this day goes by as usual. Carol is out for a walk, she has my cold and is constantly coughing. What can we do but suffer.

4:55 p.m. - 2019-06-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act