glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

God Bless America

It is a cold gray Sunday morning here in southwest Michigan. It rained during the night so everything is soaked with water. The trees are almost all bare now. The bleakness of Winter is upon us once again.

I got up this morning around 7:15 AM. Last night I set the clocks back an hour as I watched college football. I went to bed around 11:45 last night. My life keep speeding along without my permission. So I got up made myself a bowl of oatmeal for breakfast and ate my mush messing with our main computer. After messing with our main computer I wrote in my paper diary and then read till Carol got home from work from a book I was reading last night while watching college football titled, 'Meditations From A Movable Chair' by Andre Dubus. Carol got home from work around 9:05 AM. Before coming home from work she went downtown to Reader's World to get more Sunday newspapers. She took a Sunday newspaper to her older brother Dave who is in rehab at Freedom Village. Carol told me Dave was very discouraged/depressed. I often wonder these days how would I react if I was in Dave's situation-sick with cancer-weak-frail-old beyond his years-total dependent on other people especially his wife-feeling awful all the time-not home but in a hospital. How would I react to all those circumstances? Would I be able to pray with spiritual freedom to the Lord for grace? for strength? Would I feel close to God if I was as sick as Dave? Dave from what I know claims to be a Christian. Does Dave find comfort in his relationship to the Lord Jesus? Is Dave experiencing the tender loving care of his Savior Jesus Christ? Where does a Christian find comfort in dark difficult times like being sick with cancer and old? How will I react when death or sickness approaches me or one of my loved ones? Now is the time to be ready for those dark days I tell myself. Time is running out. Death approaches faster and faster.

So it is a cold wet gray Sunday morning. I have no plans for the day ahead of me. Wait the day out. Maybe watch some professional football. Look at my books through the day. Carol works tonight and then is off two weeks. She leaves for Denver Colorado this coming Tuesday.

Well, I suppose I will close to feel old and cold. There is no where to hide.

10:56 a.m. - 2018-11-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act