glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

King of kings

It is in the ongoing flow of death 2:55 PM Friday afternoon. It is a hot day so we have the central air system on today.

I am falling asleep as I write these words so I got to make this fast.

It is Now 4:27 PM late Friday afternoon. I passed out for awhile and when I woke myself up it was 4 o'clock PM. It looks like from what I see outside it might rain and thunder this evening. We surely need some heavy rain showers here in west Michigan. Our lawn has turned brown and we are already in drought conditions.

So this morning I got up around 7 o'clock AM. My wife was already up cooking and baking when I got up. My wife believes every day should be a productive day. My wife is never idle. It is because of my wife's hard work we live such a blessed life in this Wasteland. One reaps what one sows. An idle hand is full of mischief.

The auto repair shop just called about my van. I need four new tires and a ball joint needs to be replaced. Altogether it is going to cost us $700.00 dollars to get the old van back on the road. I will have to call up my Edward Jones man and get some cash sent to us to pay for the repair work that will be done on our the old van. I got to keep that van going till it completely dies. We plan to get a new car next year maybe and then I will start using our present car. In America one needs cars to stay in the Dead Zone.

So this morning I got up to face death and a certain Day of divine judgment. I had breakfast and then wrote in my paper diary. I read for morning worship from a book titled, 'Conformed To The Image Of His Son: Reconsidering Paul's Theology Of Glory In Romans' by Haley Goranson Jacob.

This morning I was planning to check out the Friends of the Library Used Books Sale before opening up the Book Nook for business. So I got to the library at 9 o'clock AM and was able to gather the used books I wanted before the doors were open first to those who were members of the Friends of the Library. After an hour the general public could come in. I already knew what used books I wanted because I had spent two days helping set up for the used books sale and had searched for the used books that I would want to add to our library. These are the used books I bought on the first sweep (I will go through the used books once again tomorrow morning and also next Monday)-

'Joseph Anton' A Memoir by Salman Rushdie

'Hunting Mister Heartbreak: A Discovery of America' by Jonathan Raban

'The Age Of Consent' a novel by Geoffrey Wolff

'The Gay Talese Reader: Portraits & Encounters' Introduction by Barbara Lounsberry

'Dissident Gardens' a novel by Jonathan Lethem

'Love for Nancy: The Letters Of Nancy Mitford' Edited By Charlotte Mosley

'Confessions of an English Opium-Eater and Other Writings' by Thomas De Quincey

'Napoleon's Memoirs' Edited By Somerset De Chair With A Preface By Michael Foot

'Burning Down The House: Essays On Fiction/Expanded Edition by Charles Baxter

'The Collected Stories of Louis Auchincloss'

'Man Ray 1966' Los Angeles County Museum Of Art

'The Lotus Eater' a novel by Tatjana Soli

'Tales' H. P. Lovecraft [Library of America]

'Omega and after: Bloomsbury And The Decorative Arts' Isabelle Anscombe/photographs by Howard Grey/Foreword by John Lehmann

'Thackeray: The Life of a Literary Man' biography by D.J. Taylor

'Huxley: From Devil's Disciple To Evolution's High Priest' biography by Adrian Desmond

'Alfred H. Barr Jr. Missionary for the Modern' biography by Alice Goldfarb Marquis

I also bought used CD's by Bob Dylan, Pink Floyd, and Nirvana.

Well I am super tired so I will close to wait for my wife to get to get ready to go back to work.

5:20 p.m. - 2018-07-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act