glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

from Bauhaus to our house

It is 12:12 PM Sunday afternoon in the death flow. The other evening Carol and I were sitting in our dining room. As we sat there Carol noticed a fly had just flown past us and down the hallway. Carol said there goes a fly and I said "at least I know I am decaying because I am drawing flies" something to that affect. Carol gave me a look that I understood to be sadness. Why can't I be happy? Why am I always so despairing? Why am I always in a black mood. Why can't I be cheery?

Anyway the day is going by normal. I have been reading most of the morning and now this afternoon from a book titled, 'The Path Of Christianity: The First Thousand Years' by John Anthony McGuckin.

I did leave the house this morning to look for a new bird feeder. Our old bird feeder fell apart last night. I found a smaller bird feeder than the one we had, but it looks like it will last for awhile. Our last bird feeder lasted us five years. We paid $75.00 dollars for a old bird feeder. The new one cost us $32.00 dollars. It always amazes me how much money Americans spend for stuff of no lasting value. I sometimes see myself as a mindless consumer. I find myself all the time consuming stuff unconsciously. I am always filling myself up to the point I feel sick. I am sick with consumption.

Last night I made a video for my Booktube channel and read till my bedtime from a book titled, 'Reading Jackie: Her Autobiography In Books' biography by William Kuhn.

I suppose I will close to drift. I did get out of the lower level library my Tom Wolfe collection to talk about in a future Booktube video. Here is a list of my Tom Wolfe books (Tom Wolfe recently died/he was an American writer and social critic)-

'A Man in Full' a novel by Tom Wolfe

'The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test' a novel by Tom Wolfe

'The Right Stuff' a novel by Tom Wolfe

'I Am Charlotte Simmons' a novel by Tom Wolfe

'From Bauhaus To Our House' by Tom Wolfe (a quote from the back of this slim paperback "Wolfe's delightfully witty, biting history of modern architecture is a scintillating high comedy of big money, manners, and massive manipulation of public taste"-Publishers Weekly)

'The Printed Word' social criticism by Tom Wolfe

'The Purple Decades: A Reader' a selection of Tom Wolfe's prose

'The Bonfires Of The Vanities' a novel by Tom Wolfe

'Hooking Up' a retrospective of Tom Wolfe's short writings

'Hooking Up' CD Read by Tom Wolfe and Ron Rifkin (6 CD set)

'Back To Blood' a novel by Tom Wolfe

I have been reading Wolfe's writings since High School. Well I will close to drift.

12:44 p.m. - 2018-05-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
browndamask
oct0ber
koorikaze
weatethesea
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
freakyouout
realthoughts
journey2one
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act