glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the last years of the Roman Republic

It is 3:17 PM Tuesday afternoon. Existence keeps zooming by! Here is a windy sunny day here in West Michigan. It is kind of pretty outside because of the late autumn colors.

I can feel myself fading fast so I will try to write something that makes sense. I got up this morning around 7:20 AM. I got up made myself a pot of coffee and a pot of oatmeal. I ate my oatmeal while messing with our main computer. After messing with our main computer I wrote in my paper diary. I do not think I read anything this morning before going to the local library used books store to volunteer for a couple of hours.

I left for the library around 9:40 AM and the Book Nook was not busy at all. I wandered the store and read 'Fantasyland How America Went Haywire: A 500-Year History' by Kurt Andersen. While at the Book Nook I bought a lot of used books that I come into the store that morning. I bought these used books today at the Book Nook-

'Off The Road: Twenty Years with Cassady, Kerouac, & Ginsberg' memoir by Carolyn Cassady (I already had this book, but I bought this paperback edition because of the cover.)

'Look At The Birdie' Short Fiction by Kurt Vonnegut

'Galapagos' a novel by Kurt Vonnegut

'Men And Cartoons' stories by Jonathan Lethem

'The Fifties: A Women's Oral History' by Brett Harvey

'La Place de la Concorde Suisse' Swiss Army history by John McPhee

'Deep Politics And The Death Of JFK' non-fiction by Peter Dale Scott

'Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World' biography by Jack Weatherford

'Culture Jam The Uncooling Of America' Cultural Studies by Kalle Lasn (Founder of ADBUSTERS Magazine)

'Van Gogh: The Life' biography by Steven Naifeh & Gregory White Smith

'The Old Weird America: The World of Bob Dylan's Basement Tapes' by Greil Marcus

'Years With Frank Lloyd Wright: Apprentice to Genius' memoir by Edgar Tafel

'American Canopy: Trees, Forests, and the Making of a Nation' American History by Eric Rutkow

'Rubicon: The Last Years Of The Roman Republic'

'Gravity's Rainbow' a novel by Thomas Pynchon (I already have a couple editions of this novel, I bought this one for its cover.)

'Lincoln In Bardo' a novel by George Saunders

'Born To Run' a biography by Bruce Springsteen

I received in the mail a book I had pre-ordered from Amazon titled, 'The Collected Essays Of Elizabeth Hardwick' Selected By Darryl Pinckney.

After the Book Nook I visited thrift stores and went grocery shopping. When I got home the telephone was ringing and it was Carol.

Well I got to close because I am empty.

3:44 p.m. - 2017-10-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4